Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured:     M&A Trends     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

BOSS celebrates best in Industry awards winners at gala event

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Press release from the issuing company

The BOSS Federation has announced the winners of its 2010 Industry Awards, which saw over 500 industry guests and invitees enjoy a glittering gala black tie evening at London's Lancaster Hotel, in a night which celebrated and rewarded the best in industry.

The BOSS Industry Awards recognise and reward those in the office products industry who can demonstrate real excellence, either as individuals or through the successful performance of their business. The awards are seen as THE premier industry event in the year.

The awards, the tenth to be staged by The BOSS Federation were held on 14 October, and one of the highlights of the evening was the announcement of outgoing BOSS Federation Chairman Alan Barclay of Vasanta Group as the winner of the Outstanding Achievement award, a perfect and fitting finale to his tenure in office.

The Award was presented to Alan by Graeme Chapman Chairman of OFDA, and past colleague of Alan. BOSS Federation Chief Executive Michael Gardner paid tribute to Alan`s chairmanship of the Federation and long-standing industry career, stating, "Alan has been a great supporter of the Industry and the BOSS Federation and he has left a great legacy in shaping and changing the Industry to meet the changing and challenging demands of modern day economics. I would like to personally thank him for his courage, determination and statesmanship in driving through these changes. "

On receiving his award, Alan commented, "I am honoured and proud to receive this prestigious award.  We live in an age of remarkable and accelerating change which presents greater challenges to business management and serious complications to corporate strategic planning. I hope in my own way I have been able to support the BOSS Federation and the Industry through these difficult times."

Celebrity host for the evening was comedian and Comedy Store performer Terry Alderton, a former star of TV's London Burning and also ex-Southend United goalkeeper. Terry delivered his unique brand of comedy prior to the awards ceremony, keeping the packed audience entertained with his anecdotes and quick wit.

The awards evening began with the Pipes and Drums of the London Scottish Regiment making a spectacular entrance to the proceedings. This year is the regiment's 150th anniversary, and the Pipes and Drums are one of the five oldest pipe bands in the world, and the world's oldest volunteer pipe band.

In his opening speech, BOSS Federation Chief Executive Michael Gardner stated, "We are here tonight to recognise those companies and individuals who have made a difference to our Industry. We call them Excellence awards because these companies and individuals have excelled in their chosen category. We also have a serious charitable side to the evening raising money for the BOSS Benevolent fund (BENFUND) supporting those in our industry who are less fortunate than ourselves."

The Entrepreneur of the Year award was presented to Luke Chapman, who won for his "Business Performance Group delivering real sales development and marketing to meet the key needs of a dealer."

BOSS also introduced for the first time a new Retailer Excellence of the Year Award .The winners on the night were high street supermarket chain Tesco, who scooped the Multiple Retailer Excellence Award.

The Independent Retailer Excellence Award was awarded to UOE, whilst Penketh's secured the top spot in the Dealer Excellence Award - Over £5m annual turnover category.

The Catalogue of the Year award, sponsored by Nestle Professional, was presented to Bluefish Office Products.

The Manufacturers' Marketing Excellence Award, sponsored by Integra, Spicers & VOW was awarded to Fellowes.

In his closing speech Michael Gardner thanked all those who had attended and entered the awards, which this year saw an incredible improvement in quality entries.

The raffle for the BOSS BENEVOLENT FUND (BENFUND) charity of the evening, also raised in excess of £6,000.

The 2010 BOSS Federation awards winners in full were as follows;

Brand Awareness Award WINNER:
Sponsored by Ideal & ofda

Business Technology Award (Up to £5m annual turnover) WINNER
Sponsored by Bluesky System Solutions Ltd & trodat UK

Catalogue of the Year Award WINNER
Bluefish Office Products Ltd
Sponsored by Nestle professional

Dealer Excellence Award (Up to £5m annual turnover) WINNER
Everything Office
Sponsored by

Dealer Excellence Award (Over £5m annual turnover) WINNER
Sponsored by Spicers

Entrepreneur of the Year Award WINNER
Luke Chapman
Sponsored by Talk Paper

Environment Award - Dealer category (Large Companies) WINNER
Office depot
Sponsored by VOW

Environment Award - Manufacturers' category WINNER
Kyocera Mita
Sponsored by VOW

Environment Award - Dealer category (Small Companies) WINNER
Sponsored by VOW

Manufacturing Excellence Award - Up to £10m annual turnover WINNER
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation

Manufacturing Excellence Award - Over £10m annual turnover WINNER
Brother UK Ltd
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation

Manufacturers' Marketing Excellence Award WINNER
Sponsored by The BOSS Resellers' & Distributors' forum: Integra, Spicers & VOW

Resellers' Marketing Excellence Award WINNER
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation

Young Professional of the Year Award WINNER
David Kelly: Lyreco
Sponsored by Antalis McNaughton

Outstanding Achievement Award WINNER
Alan Barclay
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation

Business Technology Award (Over £5m annual turnover) WINNER
Office depot
Sponsored by Bluesky System Solutions Ltd & trodat UK

The Independent Retailer Excellence Award WINNER
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation

The Multiple Retailer Excellence Award WINNER
Sponsored by The BOSS Federation




Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2018 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved