Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured:     M&A Trends     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

EDSF Announces 2008 Excellence in Education Awards

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

Press release from the issuing company

Boston, MA, March 4, 2008 - EDSF, the international, non-profit organization dedicated to the document management and graphic communications marketplace, today announced the 2008 Excellence in Education and Educator of the Year award recipients. The 2008 EDSF Excellence in Education Award recipients demonstrate educational excellence and innovation as they prepare individuals for careers in the document management and communications marketplace. The award recipients will be honored at the EDSF Industry Leaders' Luncheon today during the AIIM International Exposition & Conference and the ON DEMAND Conference & Exposition at the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center. EDSF is located in Booth #132 on the Expo floor.

Educators and their educational programs set the stage for successful learning experiences for the next generation of professionals. The EDSF Excellence in Education Awards for Innovation honor these individuals, academic institutions and professional training organizations for their excellence and innovative teaching efforts in preparing the future workforce.

Since 1997, when the program was initiated, 49 educators and/or academic and training programs have received recognition. Individuals and programs have been honored from the United States, Canada, Germany, Australia, the United Kingdom, Brazil, Belgium, Denmark, China and Switzerland.

"EDSF is proud to honor this year's Educators of the Year and Excellence in Education award recipients," said Brenda Kai, EDSF executive director. "The Foundation values and congratulates the achievements of these educators and academic institutions who are preparing our future generation of industry professionals."

Jon Leibowitz, vice president, Questex Media Group, said, "Education is critical to the document management and communications marketplace. EDSF's recognition and support of educators and future business leaders is inspirational. The outstanding contribution they make to the industry is illustrated year after year by the quality and talent of the students and educators they honor."

Educator of the Year Awards

The Educator of the Year Awards are presented to academic professionals at both the college and secondary school levels who are dedicated to the advancement of the industry through education. These individuals have made significant contributions in the classroom with their students, in curriculum development and within the document management and communications marketplace. Each individual provides leadership, inspiration and enthusiasm in all that they do. This year's recipients are:

- Educator of the Year - Higher Education, Sponsored by Canon

Dr. La Verne Abe Harris, Associate Professor, Computer Graphics Technology, Purdue University

Harris said, "Being selected 2008 Educator of the Year (Higher Education) is a great validation that the energy I have put into my scholarship and mentoring of students is appreciated. University students are our future. I want them to be creative thinkers, self-initiators, socially responsible, and make the world a better place."

- Educator of the Year - Secondary Education, Sponsored by Eastman Kodak

John Augustine, Instructor, Graphic Communications & Printing Technology, Frederick County Career & Technology Center

Augustine said, "Receiving this award gives me great satisfaction in knowing that I have made my 'footprint' within the ranks of other great historical printers."

Excellence in Education Awards

The Excellence in Education Awards honor worldwide academic institutions and professional organizations for their educational and innovative efforts relating to the document management and communications industry. Recipients address industry issues, reflect state-of-the art technology and benefit the industry through their programs. This year's awards include:

- Innovation in Higher Education, Sponsored by Ricoh

Bonnie Blake, Program Director, M.A. in Graphic Communications Management and Technology, New York University's School of Continuing and Professional Studies

Blake said, "By recognizing the remarkable growth, innovation and quality of our M.A. in Graphic Communications Management and Technology program, this EDSF award not only honors NYU/SCPS but encourages our board, our faculty and especially our talented management students to continue to achieve."

- Innovation in Continuing Education, Sponsored by Xerox

Dr. John Leininger, Professor, VDP Hands-on Training Consortium, Clemson University

Leininger said, "This award would not be possible without 22 people in 22 companies looking at an opportunity and supporting an idea that would help the industry as much as it would help their company. This award recognizes what can be done when one person has an idea and everyone works together for a common goal."

- Innovation in Secondary Education, Sponsored by InfoPrint Solutions, Visual Arts and Technology Academy

Lauriel Adsit, Director, Visual Arts and Technology Academy, University City High School

Adsit said, "This award validates our efforts as educators to make art, technology and the creative process an integral part of our students' educational experience, goals and future aspirations."

For additional information on EDSF, visit www.edsf.org. For additional information on the AIIM International Exposition & Conference, visit www.aiimexpo.com and the ON DEMAND Exposition & Conference, visit www.ondemandexpo.com.




Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2018 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved