Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Printing Industry Midwest Honors Its Best

Press release from the issuing company

Minneapolis, Minn. – Printing Industry Midwest (PIM) held its annual banquet and premier awards ceremony, the Star of Excellence Awards Banquet, on April 26th, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis. The banquet is hosted for the Midwest Region to celebrate the commitment to quality and creativity each member brings to the industry.

This year, twenty-four members submitted projects that were judged and then honored at this sold out spring banquet. Over 300 people came to celebrate the Midwest’s finest print and individuals. Awards were given out throughout the night to individuals and companies for outstanding accomplishments in the print and graphic communication industry.

Steve Bonoff, PIM’s new President, kicked off the night by sharing the direction he plans to guide this organization to. Bonoff states, “Innovation. Vision. Leadership. These are words that drive my actions as the incoming president of PIM. Words matter, because we use them to move ourselves, our employees, and our organizations forward with a common purpose, a clear direction, and a way to quantify success.” Bonoff reported, in the coming months, PIM’s vision will be honed to address a widening scope of member value and service opportunities, offering expanded benefits of membership in the areas of talent, technology, and trends.

The 2018 Graphic Arts Industry Leader of the Year went to Jim Andersen, CEO, IWCO Direct. This award has been given by PIM since 1972. The past recipients select each new member of this elite list annually. Andersen was recognized by his peers for his exemplary leadership at IWCO Direct. He is an active leader within the Minnesota business community, currently serving as a board advisor to MENTOR Minnesota, and holding a seat on the Executive Committee of the Minnesota Business Partnership. Andersen also served as president of Hazeltine National Golf Club when it played host to the 2016 Ryder Cup.

Andersen joined IWCO Direct as President and CEO in 1999. Under the direction of the company’s leadership team, IWCO Direct initially created a Total Package supply chain solution for all aspects of direct mail production, pioneered postal optimization and commingling, and expanded the company’s national footprint. Most recently IWCO Direct added a Marketing Services practice to provide clients with full agency services for their direct marketing campaigns. Annual revenue has grown from approximately $84 million when Andersen first joined the company to $465 million today. These successes led to the company’s recent acquisition by Steel Connect, of which IWCO Direct is now a wholly owned subsidiary.

“I am honored and humbled by this recognition from Printing Industry Midwest,” said Andersen. “It is truly a reflection of the hard work and commitment of everyone at IWCO Direct, and I extend my thanks to them. I’m excited about what we will accomplish together in the coming years as we continue to transform direct marketing.”

Bonoff stated, “This award is presented to an outstanding individual who is truly an ambassador of print, and Jim Andersen certainly exemplifies that.”

Other awards handed out were to Julie Kleist from Meyers Printing who received the ninth annual Production Professional of the Year Award, Gail Hawk from Streamworks who received the tenth annual Customer Service Representative of the Year Award, and to The John Roberts Shipping Department - Paul Belpedio, Tony Chapman, Duane Peter, and Joey Pierotti – they were the second team to receive the Outstanding Team of the Year Award.

The evening was rounded out with the announcement of the Star of Excellence Best of Show Award. This year’s winner, chosen by a panel of qualified judges, was Kindnest Cube by The First Impressions Group, Inc. from Eagan, MN. A beautiful piece of work that was praised by the judges, this piece is something to be proud of. The judges felt there were two other pieces that deserved special recognition. Carlson Print Group 2018 Calendar Studios by Carlson Print Group of Eden Prairie, MN received Runner up and David Yurman Holiday 17 by Bolger Vision Beyond Print from Minneapolis, MN received Honorable Mention. “RBC Conference Signs” by SeaChange Print Innovations from Plymouth, MN won the People’s Choice award.

PIM enjoys recognizing its members for their hard work, to view a list of all the winning companies please visit - https://www.pimw.org/2018-pim-star-award-winners/. Thank you to the following sponsors who helped make this event successful – Veritiv, Pioneer Paper Stock, IWCO Direct, Lindenmeyr Munroe, Associated Bank, Seaton, Peters & Revnew, Bremer Bank, Case Paper, Heidelberg USA, Inc., Anchor Paper Company, Daily Printing, and Standard Dynamics, Inc.

Check out our Facebook, @PrintingIndustryMW, for photographs from the night - https://www.facebook.com/pg/PrintingIndustryMW/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2126279050976448


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free