Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


PIA Honor Society Inducts Seven Industry Leaders

Press release from the issuing company

Alexandria, Va., December 5, 2003 — The Ash Khan Honor Society of the Printing Industries of America, Inc. inducted six industry notables and the late executive director of the Printing Industry of Minnesota at their recent black-tie gala in New San Antonio. New Members include: Mr. Thomas Hale Hawkins, III, Owner/President of Lewisburg Printing Company, Lewisburg, Marshall County, Tennessee. Mr. Hawkins served on the Printing Industries of the South (PIAS) Board of Directors for 12 years and was Chairman 2000–2001. Mr. Conrad J. Levenduski, the Owner/President of Ultimate Print & Mailing Solutions of Austin, Texas. Mr. Levenduski was Chairman of the MPA Executive Committee and served on that board for over 10 years. Mr. James R. Niesen, the retired Executive Director of the Binding Industries of America, a position he held for 20 years until his retirement in 2000. Mr. H. Winfield Padgett, Jr., Chairman of the Padgett Printing Company, Dallas, Texas. Mr. Padgett was President of the Printing Industries Association of Texas in 1992–1993 and Vice Chairman, Government Affairs for the Printing Industries of America from 1994 to 2000. Mr. J. Ralph Sowell, Jr., President of Franklin Printers of Jackson, Mississippi. Mr. Sowell served as President of the Printing Industry of Mississippi and Chairman of the Board for the Printing Industry of the South, Inc. Mr. Charles F. Stay, President and CEO of Bert-Co Industries of Los Angeles, California. Mr. Stay was Chairman of the Board for the Printing Industries of Southern California. He was Chairman of the PIA Board in 2001–2002, and is presently Chairman of the Benefit Trust for PIASC and on the Board of Directors for the Paperboard Packaging Council. Mr. Kelvin Johnson was posthumously inducted. Mr. Johnson was President and CEO of Printing Industry of Minnesota, Inc., a position he held for 19 years. Mr. Johnson was inducted by Ash Khan Honor Society member Robert E. Murphy, CEO of Japs-Olson Company, St. Louis Park, Minnesota. The award was accepted by Mr. Johnson’s sister, Kris Fuqua, and brother, Kerry Johnson, both of Minnesota. The Ash Khan Honor Society was established in 1950 to honor members of the Printing Industries of America for their contributions and service to the printing industry at local affiliate or national association levels. For more information about the Ash Khan Honor Society, contact Diane Koch at (703) 519-8183.