Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Agfa-Gevaert Changes Composition of the Board of Directors

Press release from the issuing company

Mortsel (Belgium) - 26 March 2002 - Agfa-Gevaert announces that its Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of April 30th, 2002 will be requested to approve a proposal to change the composition of the Board of Directors. Mr André Leysen, Chairman, and Mr Hermann Josef Strenger, Vice Chairman, have decided to resign for age reasons. The Group thanks both gentlemen for the outstanding way they have rendered service to our staff, customers and shareholders during many years. The Board of Directors has decided to grant Mr André Leysen the title of Honorary Chairman. As such, he will continue to employ his vast international experience for the benefit of the Group. Furthermore, Mr Werner Wenning has taken on important new professional responsibilities preventing him from continuing his duties as a Director of the Group. The Board of Directors therefore will propose to the Shareholders' General meeting to appoint Mr Jozef Cornu, Mr Klaus Kuhn and Mr Udo Oels as new members of the Board. Moreover, during the Board of Directors immediately consecutive to the Shareholders' General Meeting, the appointment of Mr Pol Bamelis as new Chairman of the Board of Directors will be proposed. Mr Pol Bamelis (1939) is of Belgian nationality. He obtained a Ph D in chemistry at the Catholic University of Leuven and made his career with Bayer, where he became a member of the Board of Management in 1991. Since 2001, he is an independent director in Bekaert, Crop Design, Oleon, Evotec and MediGene. He joined the Board of Directors of Agfa-Gevaert in June 2001. Mr Jozef Cornu (1944) is a Belgian who studied electronic and mechanical engineering at the Catholic University of Leuven. Subsequentely he obtained ME and Ph.D. degrees from Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada. In 1973, he started his career with Bell Telephone where he was appointed in 1984 as General Manager and member of the Board of Directors. From 1987 until 1995 he occupied several functions with Alcatel, before being appointed COO of Alcatel Telecom and member of the Alcatel Executive Committee. In May 2000 he was appointed Member of the Board of Directors of Alcatel S.A. Mr Klaus Kuhn (1952) is of German nationality. He studied mathematics and physics at the Technical University of Berlin and obtained an MBA at the University of South Carolina. He started his career with Siemens AG and joined in 1981 Schering AG where he occupied several functions in Germany and abroad. In 1998 he entered Bayer, where he was in charge of Corporate Finance. From May 2002, on he will become a member of the Board of Management of Bayer AG. Mr Udo Oels ( 1944) is a German citizen and studied chemistry at the Technical University of Hannover. Since 1976, he worked in different fields at Bayer in Germany and in the US and was appointed as a member of the Board of Management of Bayer in 1996.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs