Printing Industries Alliance announced the recipients of its 2009 Franklin, Power of Communications, and John Peter Zenger Awards at the Manhattan headquarters of Xerox on May 20. The awards will be presented formally at the group's Franklin Event celebration on September 30. Event co-chair Diane Romano (HudsonYards) said that Cathie Black, president of Hearst Magazines, would be honored with the Franklin Award for Distinguished Service, a tribute presented to leading figures by Printing Industries Alliance and its predecessor associations for more than 50 years. The Power of Communication Awards, given in three categories, will go to Patrick Pagani, vice president and COO, Ramsey Press (Printing); Celie Baussan, senior vice president, operations and technology, SourceMedia (Publishing); and Lori Carrabba, executive vice president, director of operations, Ogilvy Healthworld (Advertising). Stephen R. Whittaker, vice president for quality management and sustainability initiatives at Monroe Litho, will be the recipient of the John Peter Zenger Medal. This honor, conferred by peer vote, recognizes exemplary performance in charity, activism, community affairs, or military service. apofranklinawards0520092 From left: Stephen R. Whittaker; Lori Carrabba, Diane Romano (Franklin Event co-chair), Celie Baussan, Patrick Pagani, and Cheryl Kahanec (Franklin Event co-chair). Those saluting the honorees at the announcement included Michael Makin, president and CEO of Printing Industries of America (PIA). Printing Industries Alliance is the PIA affiliate for New York State, northern New Jersey, and northwestern Pennsylvania. The Franklin Event will take place on Wednesday, September 30 from 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers, New York City. Reservations can be made at the Printing Industries Alliance web site. For information about corporate sponsorships, including early-bird rates for sponsorships pledged before June 15, contact contact Vicki Keenan at (908) 233-4124; [email protected].