The owners of three graphics firms are among the entrepreneurs who will compete for the title of “National Small Business Person of the Year” during the U.S. Small Business Administration’s National Small Business Week observance next month (May 17-23) in Washington, D.C. The National Small Business Person of the Year and runners-up will be selected from among the 53 state small business winners, including the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Guam. More than 100 outstanding small business owners will be recognized during five award events focusing on the achievements of America's top entrepreneurs. The print industry contenders are: • Susan Haugland, president, and Dan Haugland, CEO and CIO, of BestBill, a Phoenix, AZ, company that prints and mails statements, invoices, payment coupon books, and other billing documents. BestBill also provides online billing services. • Grady W. Busse, president of Action Publishing Inc. of Grand Junction, CO. Action Publishing creates and produces custom-designed day planners, calendars and notebooks for students. • Don M. Sanders, president of the Sir Speedy printing and marketing services company in Amarillo, TX. The winner of the “National Small Business Person” of the Year will be announced as part of a three-day (May 17-19) event at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington. Other awards will be presented to individuals involved in disaster recovery, government contracting, and small business advocacy. The Small Business Administration also will honor partners in financial and entrepreneurial development. The events can be viewed via live webcasts at the National Small Business Week web site. Has your printing business earned a local, state, or national honor? Send us the details, and we’ll post the story here.