Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Charlene Sims of The Master’s Press Named AMSP/NAPL/NAQP "Printer of the Year"

Press release from the issuing company

Derrick Doi, Keith Kemp, Sappi Fine Papers, and AccuZIP Inc. to be honored with industry awards during the 2014 Owners Conference, Sept. 25-27, in Chicago

East Rutherford, N.J. - AMSP/NAPL/NAQP has named Charlene Sims, President of The Master’s Press in Dallas, Texas, as its Printer of the Year. Sims will be honored in ceremonies on Sept. 27 during the 2014 Owners Conference, Sept. 25-27, at The Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, Ill.

Conference award ceremonies will also honor Derrick Doi of Xerox Corporation with the Industry Award of Distinction and name Keith Kemp of Xerographic Digital Printing as an Honorary Lifetime Member. In addition, The Supplier of the Year Award will be presented to Sappi Fine Paper and the Product of the Year honor to AccuZIP6 from AccuZIP Corp.

“We are happy to present the well-deserved Printer of the Year Award to Charlene Sims,” says Mitch Evans, NAQP Managing Director, and a Vice President of AMSP/NAQP/NAPL, the association formed this year through the merger of the Association of Marketing Service Providers, National Association for Printing Leadership, and National Association of Quick Printers.

The Printer of the Year Award goes to a quick or small commercial printer who exemplifies the best in the industry, operating a successful, customer-responsive business, demonstrating creativity/vision, exhibiting service to community groups and industry organizations, and serving as a role model for future generations.

“Charlene represents the very best qualities of the kind of confident and courageous entrepreneur on whom our industry is built,” says Evans. “She established The Master's Press in 1976 as a young, single woman, and eagerly learned all she could about the industry and running a business while on the front lines, working in every facet of her growing shop. She has continued to guide her company successfully through all the technological and economic challenges of the last four decades, nurturing strong customer and community relationships in the Dallas area, and offering her time and talents as a volunteer leader of NAQP.

“Charlene has served as Chairperson of the NAQP Board of Directors, as a member of the AMSP/NAPL/NAQP Board, and, for the last two years, as Co-Chair of the Owners Conference Planning Committee, where her dedication to helping create a rewarding and welcoming conference experience has been a hallmark of her service,” adds Evans. She continues to serve as NAQP Immediate Past Chairman.

“Charlene’s insightful leadership, determination, and caring character infuses everything she does, whether for our industry, her business, or her association,” says Evans. “She has been, and continues to be, a splendid role model for any business owner or executive and we are proud to present her with the 2014 Printer of the Year Award.”

Industry Honors

Four additional industry honors will also be presented during this year’s Owners Conference:

  • Derrick Doi, Vice President, Quick and Franchise Print Segment Marketing, Xerox Corporation, Webster, N.Y., will receive the Industry Award of Distinction, given to a non-printer who has supported and advanced the quick and small commercial printing industry.
  • Keith Kemp, President, Xerographic Digital Printing, Orlando, Fla., a former Chairman of NAQP and NAPL, will be named an Honorary Lifetime Member in recognition of his service to the industry and the association.
  • Sappi Fine Paper, Boston, Mass., will receive the Supplier of the Year Award, given to a supplier company demonstrating consistent and outstanding products, service, and/or support to the quick and small commercial printing industry.
  • AccuZIP6 mailing software from AccuZIP Corp., Atascadero, Calif., will be named the Product of the Year. This award is presented to a company that has produced a new or enhanced product that improves product offerings, profitability, or customer service and satisfaction in the quick and small commercial print market.

“We are pleased to present these awards to these individuals and companies whose efforts have helped advance the growth and profitability of the quick and small commercial print companies that are such an essential part of today’s graphic communications industry,” says Evans, “and we look forward to being able to honor them before our members and guests at our annual Owners Conference next month.”

The 2014 Owners Conference will feature keynote addresses and breakout sessions covering topics of specific interest to today’s quick and small commercial printer and mailer. The event will also provide plenty of time for networking and enjoying the many cultural and entertainment attractions of Chicago and will be convenient for those planning to attend GRAPH EXPO 14, which it immediately precedes. Go to http://napl.org/2014-owners-conference/  to learn more or to register.


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free