Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Printing Industries of America announces 2011 officers and board of directors

Press release from the issuing company

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - Printing Industries of America is pleased to announce the appointment of its 2011 Officers and Board of Directors. The installation ceremony took place on November 14, 2010, at Printing Industries' Fall Administrative Meetings held in San Francisco, California.

Chairman of the Board--Michael Keene of John Roberts Company, Minneapolis, MN
Mr. Keene began his career while attending The University of Minnesota. After graduating in 1972, he was appointed supervisor of the prepress department at The John Roberts Company and was named Vice President in 1982. Mr. Keene has served as president of The John Roberts Company since 1986 and as Chief Executive Officer since 1994. During Mr. Keene's tenure, The John Roberts Company has increased market share and maintained a reputation for technical excellence and the effective integration of new technologies. Spearheading the company's investment in ISO 9001:2000 certification is just one of the ways in which he has led The John Roberts Company into the highly competitive global economy of the 21st century.

First Vice Chairman--Laura Lawton-Forsyth of Lawton Printing, Inc., Spokane, WA
Laura Lawton-Forsyth is President of Lawton Printing, Inc. and File-EZ Folder, Inc., both located in Spokane, WA. She is the fourth generation to join the family business, working full time beginning in January 1991 and becoming President in October 2001. Lawton-Forsyth's industry involvement is extensive. She has been involved with the Pacific Printing & Imaging Association (PPI) since 2002, most recently becoming Board President in 2008. She has been affiliated with Printing Industries of America since 2001, serving as an R&D Committee Member in 2001; Board Member 2002–present; Chair, Young Print Professionals Group, 2004–present; Chair, Education Committee and Executive Committee member 2006–present; and Finance Committee Member, 2008–present. She has also been a Kodak Commercial Printing Advisory Group Member, serving from 2004 to 2007.

Second Vice Chairman--Timothy J. Burton of Burton & Mayer, Inc., Menomonee Falls, WI
Timothy Burton is currently the president and chairman of the board for Burton & Mayer. In the 1980s, he served as vice president of sales and marketing at Burton & Mayer. From 1969 to 1980, he served as a sales representative, and prior to 1969, he worked in the bindery, prepress, and customer service. Burton has been the Chairman of the Association Relations Committee for Printing Industries of America since 2007. He has been a Premier Print Awards judge since 1997 and has also judged local affiliate contests for PICA, PAF, PIAS, PGAMA, PII, and PINE. He is also involved in several local civic organizations, including Friends of Milwaukee Public Television, Institute for Graphics and Imaging, the Work Services Committee of the Milwaukee Center for Independence, and Paws with a Cause.

Secretary--Jeff Ekstein of Willow Printing Group, Concord, Ontario
Mr. Ekstein is the third generation in his family to own Willow Printing Group in Concord, Ontario. He has worked in the family business since he was 10 years of age, having carried out pretty much every task one could possibly do in a print shop. Jeff graduated from York University in Toronto in 1983 with a degree in Economics and Business and then went on to attend the Graphic Arts Certified Executive (CME) program from York University and NAPL. Currently the President and CEO at Willow Printing Group, he has spearheaded the acquisition of several printing companies over the years and has most recently acquired a mailing shop. Mr. Ekstein is also the current co-chair of Canadian Printing Industries Sector Council, the chair of the Printing Industries Education Committee, a Premier Print Awards judge, and a member of the Printing Industries of America Executive Committee.

Treasurer--Hal Slager of Trico Graphics, Inc, Chicago, IL (continued term)
A Certified Public Accountant by trade, Slager has spent more than 20 years with Trico Graphics. Founded as Triangle Engraving Company in 1915, the company evolved to focus on sales and marketing support services with Slager as a driving force in advancing the company into electronic publishing. Slager also serves his community as a Town Councilman in Schererville, Indiana, and is a director for the Calumet Region Striders, a local running club of 500 members.

Immediate Past Chairman--William J. Gibson of Trico Graphics, Inc, Chicago, IL
Mr. Gibson grew up in a family tradition of print. In 1908 his grandfather started Gibson Graphics, Inc., a commercial sheetfed printing company in Chicago, and Mr. Gibson's father took over the company after World War II. After graduating college, Mr. Gibson worked for Waverly Publishing until his father decided to sell Gibson Graphics in 1982. Mr. Gibson purchased the company and ran it until 1998 when he sold it to Rider Dickerson. He remained with the company as Vice President of Sales until joining Trico last year. He is active in his local affiliate, Printing Industry of Illinois/Indiana Association (PII), and serves on its board. He is also past president of the Ben Franklin Club of Chicago and past chairman of both Printing Industries of America's Presidents Conference Advisory Committee and Education Committee.

Also joining the board of directors in 2011 are Darrel Dundore of Astro-Dynamic Print & Graphic Services; Jeff Stoudt of The Printing Industry of the Carolinas, Inc.; Jay Goldscher of The Whitmore Group; Mike Wurst of Henry Wurst, Inc; and John Bell of The Ovid Bell Press.


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free