Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Printing Association of Florida Names Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas for 2007

Press release from the issuing company

Orlando, Florida—August 2, 2007— The Printing Association of Florida (PAF) is proud to name the recipients for the Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas (GALA) award for 2007. Thomas Quadracci, executive chairman of Quad/Graphics and Francisco Alberto Avila Ruiz, owner of Imprefin SA de CV, have been named Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas for North and Latin America for 2007. Both men will be receiving their awards before hundreds of industry leaders and guests at the 24th annual GALA Award Banquet and Reception, Friday, March 2 in Miami Beach, Florida, in conjunction with Graphics of the Americas’ 2007 exhibition and conference. Established in 1982, the GALA Award is one of the printing industry’s most prestigious recognitions awarded to two outstanding industry professionals each year. GALA recipients (one each from North America and Latin America) are nominated by PIA/GATF affiliates and Conlatingraf members and are chosen for their leadership in areas of management, technology, business and quality; as well as their contributions to the graphic arts industry, their community and society in general. Since its inauguration 24 years ago, merging with the previous Latin American Leaders “Man of the Year Award” given by the Confederación Latinoamericana de la Industria Gráfica (CONLATINGRAF), the GALA award symbolizes not only industry excellence but also the linking of the Americas and two major industry associations. Thomas Quadracci Born the son of a printer, Mr. Quadracci has been immersed in the graphic arts industry since childhood and has spent his life advancing the industry through the judicious use of technology. Currently, he is executive chairman of Quad/Graphics, the commercial printing company he helped found with his brother Harry in 1971. In the 35 years Mr. Quadracci has been with the company, he has held a variety of leadership roles. As president of QuadTech, a division he co-founded in 1979, he oversaw the development of computerized controls for press and finishing equipment not only for Quad/Graphics' equipment, but for other printers' equipment. As executive vice president, a role he assumed in 2000, Mr. Quadracci was acutely involved in the long-term strategic development of Quad/Graphics, including guiding the corporation's aggressive international expansion. Following his brother Harry's death in July 2002, Mr. Quadracci became president & CEO; chairman and CEO in January 2005; and executive chairman in July 2006. Mr. Quadracci will retire on December 31, 2006, to coincide with the company's and his 35th employment anniversary. Today, Quad/Graphics boasts $2 billion in sales, 12,000 employees and 20 print-production locations on 3 continents. Among the more than 1,000 titles, the company prints are National Geographic, Newsweek, Time, U.S. News & World Report, Architectural Digest, Food & Wine, Coldwater Creek, Victoria's Secret, Lillian Vernon, Lands’ End and Chadwick’s of Boston. “Our industries continue to thrive, based on the fine work by gentlemen such as Tom Quadracci and Francisco Alberto Avila Ruiz,” said Mike Streibig, president of the Printing Association of Florida. “Their lifelong contributions not only have earned them this honor, but have greatly benefited both the North and Latin American printing and graphic arts industries.” Quadracci joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this coveted honor. Past North American GALA recipients include Robert Havrilla (1994), Wallace Stettinius (1995), Roy Winn Luckett (1996), Howard C. “Buzz” Webber, Jr. (1997), Donald Duncanson (1998), Mark G. Jorgensen (1999), Bob Murphy (2000), Joe Arriola (2001), Hans Peetz-Larsen (2002), Ray Roper (2003), Jerry Williamson (2004), Warren Wilkins (2005) and John Wurst (2006). Francisco (Paco) Alberto Avila Ruiz Francisco Alberto Avila Ruiz is the owner of Imprefin SA de CV a commercial sheet-fed printing establishment in Mexico City. Avila entered the printing business at the beginning of 1964 and as his interest grew, he formed his own graphic arts company in 1967. In 1973, as an independent shop-owner, Avila applied and was accepted as member of the Union de Litografos de Mexico A C (UILMAC). In 1978, he was invited to join the executive council of UILMAC and in 1990, elected to the executive committee of the National Chamber of the Graphic Arts Industries or CANAGRAF, holding the position for two years as the national vice-president of the organization. From 1990 to 1996, he served on UILMAC’s advisory committee and after a span of two years returned to become a member of the board. In 2000, he was nominated and elected UILMAC’s president for the period 2000-2002 and was reelected president for the period 2002 through 2004. During his presidency, he revived the relationship with the Latin American printing industries association Conlatingraf and helped represent Mexico at all Conlatingraf congresses. He also reaffirmed the relationship with PIA/GATF to represent the association in Latin America and was instrumental in the development of “Gain en Español.” Currently he is an honorary member of UILMAC and active in the advisory committee for the association. Avila joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this coveted honor. Past Latin American GALA recipients include Esteban Ramallo, Puerto Rico (1983), Armando De Armas, Sr., Venezuela (1984), Adolfo Carvajal, Colombia (1985), Armando Birlain, Mexico (1987), Nassin Yahri, El Salvador (1988), Max Heinz Gunther Schrappe, Brazil (1989), Manuel Soberon Salguiero, Mexico (1990), Herman Zupan, Argentina (1991), Francisco Valdevieso, Ecuador (1992), Nestor Mendes, Paraguay (1993), Juan Antonio Alducin Garcia de Presno, Mexico (1994), Luis Vera Giannini, Chile (1995), Dr. Alfred Karl Ploger, Brazil (1996), Alberto Umaña Carrizosa, Columbia (1997) Angel Moreno, Costa Rica (1998) Cesar Gonzalez Samohod, Chile (1999), Antonio Tabanelli, Sr., Argentina (2000), Lourival Dantas Novaes, Brazil (2001), Jose Luis Zamora Contreras, Mexico (2002), Anselmo Morvillo, Argentina (2003), Ernesto Salviat Wetzig, Chile (2004), Mario Cesar de Camargo, Brazil (2005), Fernando Leiro, Argentina (2006). In 1999, former Conlatingraph “Man of the Year” winners from 1983 to 1993 were invited back to Miami Beach to be formally inducted in the Graphics of the Americas Leaders Hall of Fame and have their names inscribed on the Eagle bust that is on display at the PAF headquarters in Orlando, Florida.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. More info about drupa programs