Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Adobe Announces Winners of 2006 Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Press release from the issuing company

SAN JOSE, Calif.--July 21, 2006-- Adobe Systems Incorporated today announced the winners of the sixth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, the premier student design competition that honors the world's most talented student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers and computer artists from the top design, film and broadcast institutions. Using the latest Adobe products, more than 1,800 students from 24 countries competed in the annual program. "Honoring the top students in the creative arts is part of Adobe's ongoing commitment to design and film education, and to the creative professional market," said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications at Adobe. "Winning an Adobe Design Achievement Award is just the beginning for these students; winners have the opportunity to gain exposure to the creative community, jumpstart their careers in the creative arts, and showcase their talents at industry events such as Sundance, Cannes and the ZeroOne Festival." "Winning an Adobe Design Achievement Award was an exceptional experience. I got the opportunity to display my work at the Guggenheim in New York, as well as at Sundance and Cannes and have it seen by so many industry professionals," said Yibi Hu from Kingston University in London and 2005 winner in the Animation category. "The program gave me an opportunity to not only build my resume, but network with leading creative professionals and other design and film students from around the world." In a ceremony last night at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto students were recognized for their achievements in nine categories: * In the Animation category, the winner was Keng-Ming Liu from the School of Visual Arts in New York, and the finalists were Stephen Neary from New York University, and Sunha Yoon from the California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, Calif. * In the Environmental Graphics and Packaging category, the winner was Amy Wang from School of Visual Arts, and the finalists were Mona Bagla from Ringling School of Art and Design in Sarasota, Fla., and Forest Young and Rebecca Gimenez from Yale University in New Haven, Conn. * In the Digital Illustration category, the winner was Lucie Bichelberger from ecole.intuit/lab in Paris, and the finalists were Paul Bellila from l'Universite Marc Bloch in Strasbourg, France, and Adam Simpson from Royal College of Art in London. * In the Interactive Design category, the winner was Janina Boesch from Rhode Island School of Design in Providence, R.I., and the finalists were Filip Olszewski from Rhode Island School of Design and Sam Smelter from the University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie, Wis. * In the Live Action category, the winner was Karolina Novitska from Massachusetts College of Art in Boston, and the finalists were Matthew Murdoch from Royal College of Art, and Brian Wee from Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Calif. * In the Motion Graphics category, the winner was Howard Hao-An Tsai from Art Center College of Design; and the finalists were Steven Baughman from Parsons School of Design in New York, and Jonathon Corbiere from Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning in Ontario, Canada. * In the Digital Photography category, the winner was Nils Orth from Tyler School of Art at Temple University in Elkins Park, Pa., and the finalists were Kyley Hellhake from Kutztown University in Kutztown, Pa., and Katherine Sheridan from Columbia College Chicago. * In the Print Design Multi-Page category, the winner was Stephan Powilat and Mathias Vogel from Fachhochschule Mainz in Mainz, Germany, and finalists were Anne-Katrin Ahrens from Hochschule fur Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg, Germany, and Albert J. Ignacio, Yaeger Moravia Rosenberg and Marcelo Viana from California College of the Arts in Oakland, Calif. * In the Print Design Single-Page category the winner was Hank Huang from Art Center College of Design, and the finalists were Aliza Dzik and Dyland Fracareta from Yale University, and Jiwon Lee from California Institute of the Arts. Finalists received a trip to Toronto to participate in the awards event and to attend studio tours. Winners were selected based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities. First place entries received US$5,000 and a selection of Adobe products. As part of the program, students are also offered internships and opportunities to showcase their work at events like the ZeroOne Festival and Sundance. The winning entries can be viewed at www.adobe.com/education/adaa/winners. This year, twelve firms opened their doors for studio tours, and allowed students to meet with the principals and learn up close how a professional studio operates. The studios included CHUM Ltd., Cuppa Coffee Studios, Gottschalk+Ash International, Grip Ltd., Hahn Smith Design, Harlequin Enterprises Ltd., Interbrand, Oxygen Design + Communications, Soapbox Design Communications, Inc., Spencer Francey Peters, Tango Media Group, and TAXI Canada, Inc. Several organizations and individuals donate their time and their services each year as sponsors and judges. This year Xerox Corporation was the official print communications sponsor of all printed media for the awards program. The panel of judges included: Leslie Allen from Cinergy Creative in Studio City, Calif., Julie Beeler from Second Story in Portland, Ore., Stefan Bucher from 344 Design in Los Angeles, Rodolphe Guenoden from Dreamworks Animation in Los Angeles, Diti Katona from Concrete Design Communications in Toronto, Canada, and Masamichi Udagawa from Antenna Design in New York City.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. More info about drupa programs