Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Kodak CEO Perez Receives 2005 Prism Award for Graphic Communications Leadership

Press release from the issuing company

NEW YORK--June 20, 2005-- Antonio M. Perez, Chief Executive Officer and President of Eastman Kodak Company, today received the 2005 Prism Award, presented annually by New York University in recognition of distinguished leadership in the graphic arts and communications industry. The award was presented during the 20th Annual Prism Award Luncheon at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. Upon accepting the award, Perez remarked, "In honoring me, you are honoring Kodak as a leader in this great industry. Kodak people around the world will share my pride in this elegant award. All of you here today, by being at this event, love this industry and are looking out for its future. So am I." Under the leadership of Perez and Kodak Chairman Daniel A. Carp, Kodak has embarked on a digitally oriented growth strategy aimed at strengthening the company's ability to compete in the fastest-growing segments of the imaging industry. Since September 2003, Kodak has invested more than $2 billion to build the company's Graphic Communications Group into a global leader and preferred partner for its customers. Perez joined Kodak as President and Chief Operating Officer in April 2003, and was elected to the company's Board of Directors in October 2004. He became Chief Executive Officer on June 1, 2005. Perez has extensive expertise in digital imaging technologies, stemming from a 25-year career at Hewlett-Packard Company, where he was a corporate vice president and a member of the company's Executive Council. As President of H-P's Consumer Business, Perez spearheaded the company's efforts to build a business in digital imaging and electronic publishing, ultimately generating worldwide revenue of more than $16 billion. Prior to that assignment, Perez served as President and CEO of H-P's inkjet imaging business. Perez is a member of the board of directors of Freescale Semiconductor, Inc. and a member of the Business Roundtable. A native of Spain, Perez studied electronic engineering, marketing and business in Spain and France. The Prism award is sponsored by NYU's Center for Graphic Communications Management and Technology. Previous Prism Award recipients include William L. Davis, Chairman, CEO and President of R.R. Donnelley & Sons Company; Henri Dyner, President and CEO of Sun Chemical Corporation; Janet L. Robinson, President and General Manager of The New York Times; and Katharine Graham, Chairman and former CEO of The Washington Post. The proceeds of the Prism Award Luncheon help to fund student scholarships for New York University's internationally renowned Graphic Communications Program, which offers graduate and undergraduate curricula to develop the next generation of industry leaders.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs