Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Three Sun Chemical Employees Honored with NAPIM Awards

Press release from the issuing company

Parsippany, N.J. – April 17, 2019 – Three Sun Chemical employees were honored with awards during the National Association of Printing Ink Manufacturers’ (NAPIM) annual convention, including the Ault Award, the highest recognition in the North American printing ink industry.

Patrick Carlisle, the founder of Joules Angstrom U.V. Printing Inks Corp. which was acquired by Sun Chemical in 2017, received the prestigious Ault Award, a recognition that honors “outstanding individuals who have played major roles in the progress of the printing ink industry.”

Sun Chemical’s Juanita Parris PhD and Brian Chwierut were each presented with a Pioneer Award. Regarded as one of the most prestigious honors in the ink manufacturing ink industry, the Printing Ink Pioneer Award honors those who have given more than 20 years of service to the printing ink industry through their work with one or several printing ink companies or suppliers, in addition to service work with ink associations, production clubs and other committees. NAPIM also considers technical contributions in the areas of laboratory, engineering, production or product development.

“Sun Chemical is proud to have employees who are committed to innovation and raising the standard for the printing inks marketplace,” said Russell Schwartz, Chief Technology Officer, Sun Chemical. “We’re thrilled that NAPIM has recognized Pat, Juanita and Brian for their well-deserved achievements and long-term commitment to the printing ink industry.”

Carlisle has delivered 40 years of dedicated service to the advancement of the printing ink and energy curing industries through product development and technical competency after starting his own business in 1999. A NAPIM board member since 2002, he served as president of the board from 2015-2017, vice president from 2013-2014, and treasurer from 2010-2011. He has also served the Printing Industries of Ohio and Northern Kentucky since 2009 and has been on the board of directors of the association since 2014, serving as the Central Advisory Council Chair in 2015 and 2016. He is also a recipient of the NAPIM Printing Ink Pioneer Award in 2013.

As the global director of materials, applications and analytical science, Parris brings more than 20 years of experience in the printing inks industry. Her work in energy curable inks has led to several key innovations including wet trapping of energy beam flexo inks and the introduction of a variety of new technologies in the field. Parris has three granted U.S. patents and 13 patents pending.

With over 30 years of experience in the industry, Chwierut currently works as a raw material category leader at Sun Chemical. He has been an instructor for the National Printing Ink Research Institute summer course for almost 30 years and is an expert in flexo and gravure printing, lamination, converting processes, composition, formulation and testing, as well as substrates for surface and reverse printing and lamination.


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free