Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Cushing Executive Vice President to Receive City of Hope’s Spirit of Life Award

Press release from the issuing company

Lifelong Volunteer Recognized for Outstanding Contributions to Innovative Cancer Research Center

Chicago, IL – Cushing, a creative display graphics firm, today announced Executive Vice President, Joseph X. Cushing, will receive City of Hope’s the Spirit of Life Award®. City of Hope’s most prestigious honor, Cushing has been involved with the organization for over twenty-four years. He will be presented with the award at a gala dinner on Wednesday, November 8.

“Joe’s twenty-plus year involvement, along with the support of other Chicago construction, real estate and design leaders for the past 25 years, has been amazing,” said Sarah Jakubowski Maraccini, senior director of corporate national philanthropy at City of Hope. “It has been vital to City of Hope’s scientific breakthroughs, innovative research and compassionate patient care.” 

Founded more than 100 years ago, as a provider of charity care for tuberculosis patients, City of Hope is now a world-renowned biomedical research, treatment, and education center. Twenty-five years ago, local construction area businesses and real estate professionals came together to found the Chicago Construction and Real Estate Council for City of Hope.  The Council raises much needed funds for cancer, diabetes, and other life-threatening disease research. 

“It’s humbling to be recognized by an organization at the forefront of saving lives and volunteer work I am passionate about,” said Joseph X. Cushing, Executive Vice President at Cushing. “We still have much work to do, and I’m excited to continue supporting this terrific organization.”

Cushing receives the Spirit of Life Award on Wednesday, November 8 at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, in Chicago.  The event provides a unique event for industry professionals to network, build relationships and raise contributions for a worthy cause.  Past recipients of the award include Mark Dewalt, John DiCiurcio, Lori Healey, Meredith O’Connor, Dan Ryan, Steve Stratton, and Richie Stein. For more information, and to purchase tickets, visit: 




Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free