Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Xplor Seeks Top Industry Contributors

Press release from the issuing company

TORRANCE, Calif. (June 2, 2004) - Xplor International, the worldwide electronic document systems association, today announced a “call for nominations” for its 2004 awards. Presented annually, Xplor International’s awards are given to those individuals and companies that have made significant contributions to the document communications industry. Xplor has also added another award for 2004 that will recognize the imaginative application of current technology within the electronic document systems industry. “One of the primary responsibilities of a professional society is to conscientiously survey the progress within the industry and identify those participants who have made notable and significant contributions,” said Skip (Harold) Henk, EDP, president, and CEO of Xplor International. “Xplor is honored to recognize those individuals, companies, and technology applications on behalf of the industry and our association.” This year, Xplor International seeks nominations in three categories. The Technology Application and Innovator of the Year awards are open to the industry at large, while the Xplorer of the Year award is reserved for Xplor members only. New for 2004—Technology Application of the Year Award: The “Technology Application” Award will be presented to an individual or an organization to recognize outstanding achievement in the unique implementation of existing electronic document systems technology. This award is open to non-members as well as members. Innovator of the Year: The "Innovator of the Year" award honors an individual, company, or organization that has conceived and developed an original concept leading to a significant advancement in the industry. The "Innovator" has advanced a new program, product, or technology that notably enhances the capabilities of electronic document systems. This award is open to non-members as well as members. Past recipients include: edotech Limited in 2003, Inland Paperboard and Packaging in 2002, Clarica Life Insurance Company in 2001, and University of Waikato in 2000. Xplorer of the Year: For the past sixteen years, Xplor International has honored an individual who has made outstanding contributions to Xplor. The "Xplorer of the Year" is Xplor International's most prestigious award as it honors significant service to the association, dedication to the Xplor mission, and notable achievement promoting the interest of the electronic document systems industry. Only current members of Xplor International, who are not on the association Board of Directors, are eligible. Past recipients include: Paul Cornelisse of Siemens Nederland N.V. in 2003, Scott Kelly, EDP of US Lynx in 2002, Jennifer Maki of The St. Paul Companies in 2001, and Neil Merchant, EDP of American Express Services Europe, Ltd. in 2000. Nomination Process and Criteria Nomination must be submitted online at http://www.xplor.org/2004NomineeForm.cfm no later than August 2, 2004. A summary of the nominee's accomplishments must be included and additional page(s) can be used to provide the nominees justification. Award recipients will be recognized Sunday afternoon at Xplor’s 25th annual Global Electronic Document Systems Conference and Exhibit, October 24-28, in Dallas Texas. If you have any questions, please contact Mary Dreyer, Honors and Awards, at 310-791-9522, or via e-mail at [email protected]