Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Public Printer Bruce James Picks Five New Depository Library Council Members

Press release from the issuing company

St. Louis, MO- Public Printer of the United States Bruce James has announced the appointment of five new members to the Depository Library Council to the Public Printer.  James made the announcement earlier this week during the Depository Library Council spring meeting in St. Louis, Missouri. "These individuals have dedicated their lives to ensuring that every American has access to Government information.  The new members join an experienced, dynamic and passionate council, and together we will work on the future of information dissemination in the digital age," James said. Evelyn Frangakis is currently at the New York Public Library, where she is the Aaron and Clara Greenhut Rabinowitz Chief Librarian for Preservation of the Barbara Goldsmith Preservation Division.  Ann Miller is the head of Duke University's Public Documents and Maps Department.   She previously served as the Chair of the American Library Association's Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT) and is currently its Treasurer. Bill Sudduth is with the University of South Carolina, where he is the Head of Documents, Microforms, Maps and Newspaper Collections.  He was the Chair of GODORT from 2002 until 2003. Susan Tulis is also a former Chair of GODORT and is no newcomer to the Council.  She served two previous terms, 1990-1993 and 1984-1987.  She is currently with Southern Illinois University Carbondale, where she is the Associate Dean for Information Services.  Walt Warnick is the U.S. Department of Energy's Director of the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).  In 2001, he received two awards for his efforts with transforming the DOE information dissemination functions into electronic media. The Depository Library Council is an advisory body formed to provide advice to the Public Printer on topics related to the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).  The Council is made up of 15 representatives from the Government information community who each serve 3-year terms.  The Public Printer appoints five members every year.