Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Former New Jersey Governor Christine Todd Whitman To Receive AGC Franklin Award

Press release from the issuing company

NEW YORK, March 30, 2004 – The Association of Graphic Communications (AGC) has announced that Christine Todd Whitman, former Governor of New Jersey and most recently, Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, will be the recipient of the 52nd annual Franklin Award, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of world leaders and dedicated Americans. The award will be presented during the Association's Annual Franklin Event on April 27th at The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers in Manhattan. Since 1952, the Franklin Award has been presented to luminaries that include three United States Presidents, New York Governors George Pataki, and Mario Cuomo, and notables such as Norman Rockwell and Walter Cronkite. AGC also will honor five distinguished leaders of the graphic communications world with the presentation of the 2004 Power of Communications Award. The Award is presented to prominent executives in the field of graphic communications in recognition of their positive influence, creative excellence and outstanding achievements in the world of communications and publishing. Named to receive the 2004 award are: Barry Meinerth, Senior Vice President, Production and Fulfillment of Time Inc., who oversees those key operations for the company's magazines and books. He joined Time Inc. in 1974 as an MBA trainee, starting in Corporate Manufacturing and Distribution, and advanced through several senior production posts. He serves on a number of industry boards, including NYU's Graphic Communications Management and Technology Center. Prior to joining Time Inc., he served for six years on activity duty as an infantry officer, rising to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. Stanley E. Freimuth, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of Fuji Photo Film U.S.A., Inc., has been with the company since 1983. He also is President of FUJIFILM e-Systems, Inc., and a member of the Board of Fuji-owned Enovation Graphic Systems, Inc. Prior to his current executive positions, he served as President of Fuji's Industrial Imaging Markets Group. He is a member of the Executive Committees of NPES and the Graphic Arts Show Company, and is a former Chairman of both organizations. Donald A. Berkowitz is President and a Board member of Central Lewmar. He began his career in the paper industry in 1970, joining New Jersey-based Central Paper. In the ensuing years, he has led the company's growth as a major distributor with a family of companies throughout the Northeast. He serves on the Board of AGC, and is Co-Chairman of the organization's Fund Raising Committee. He has served on the Board of the Advertising Club of New Jersey and on various paper industry councils and committees. Frank L. Misischia, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of FLM Graphics Corporation in Fairfield, New Jersey, began his business in 1972, initially providing writing, typesetting and illustration services to major corporations. In 1975, he expanded his company into printing, and today it has grown to become a leading graphic communications firm ranked among the top 400 printers the U.S. He is a member of the Board of AGC and serves as a Director and is on the Advisory Boards of two New Jersey banks. Randy Colahan is Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer of Colahan-Saunders and a Director of Kiltormer, LLC in Long Island City, NY. He has been with Colahan-Saunders for nearly 30 years, concentrating on the sales and financial management areas of the company's operations. He recently completed a term as the Secretary of AGC, and served for three years as a Director of AGC. He was Chairman of the AGC Exhibition Committee for four years and continues to serve a member of the Committee. As in prior years, AGC will donate a portion of the proceeds generated by the Franklin Event to Literacy Partners. A portion also will be donated to New York City’s public schools through the school system’s Office of Strategic Partnerships. The 2004 Franklin Event is being co-chaired by Martin J. Maloney of Broadford & Maloney Inc., and Wendy Kleinman of WK Planning Ltd. The Franklin Event committee comprises more than 20 members representing the graphic and publishing industries' leading companies. Over 450 top printing, publishing, and corporate executives are expected to attend the 2004 Annual Franklin Event. The evening's activities begin with cocktails at 5:30 p.m., followed by the presentation ceremony and buffet dinner. Reservations are available by phone or mail from AGC at 330 Seventh Avenue, 9th floor, New York, NY 10001; telephone 212-279-2100 ext.107; fax 212-279-5381. The cost is $325 per person (MasterCard, Visa and American Express accepted), with special silver, gold and platinum sponsorships available, ranging from $1,250 for two tickets to $5,000 for ten tickets.