Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


2012 Industry Vision & Association Service Awards

Press release from the issuing company

The IDEAlliance Board of Directors is seeking nominations for its Industry Vision and Association Service Awards for 2012. The Awards will be presented at the IDEAlliance Primex Summit in February 2012.

Please provide name, title, and company of an individual you would nominate to: Georgia Volakis, [email protected]

The IDEAlliance Board of Directors will make the final determination on the Award recipients. If you have any questions please contact David Steinhardt at [email protected] or 703.837.1066.
David Jensen Vision Award
Honoring Industry Vision
Open to Members & Non-members of IDEAlliance
The David Jensen Award is the highest honor given by IDEAlliance® and recognizes those who exhibit extraordinary dedication to and vision for the future of our industry. It is given in honor of David Jensen, Senior Vice President of Manufacturing at McGraw-Hill and an IDEAlliance (formerly the Graphic Communications Association) Chairman in the 1970’s, who was said “to have a vision beyond himself and an ability to promote change for the betterment of the industry. When he died in 1983, the David Jensen Award was founded in his name to honor those who inspired the industry to meet new media challenges.
The inscription on the Award describes its intent:
For belief in something more important than ourselves.
2011    Bob Childs, Phototype
2009    Joel Quadracci, Quad/Graphics, Inc.
2005    Anthony R. Romano, Hachette Filipacchi Media U.S., Inc.
2002    Diane Romano, AGT/Seven
1998    Barry Meinerth, Time Inc.
1995    J. Lawrence Cox, PennWell Printing Company
1992    Wallace Stettinius, Cadmus Communications Corporation
1991    Angelo Rivello, Newsweek
1986    Lawrence A. Wilson, S.D. Warren Co.
1985    Howard D. Sullivan, Judd’s, Incorporated
1984    Roger Dickeson, Rumford Press
Leonard Holzinger Service Award
Honoring Association Service
Only Open to Members of IDEAlliance
The Leonard Holzinger Award is given for exemplary service to IDEAlliance. The Award was established in 1985 by IPA (now IDEAlliance) and named for Leonard Holzinger, founder of Photo Mechanical Services, Inc., and a nationally recognized leader in the graphic arts industry until his passing in 1995. In 1985, Holzinger served as the inspiration for and as the first recipient of the Leonard Holzinger Award, an award to be given to individuals willing to share their time and expertise to the Association to promote advancement in the graphic communications industry. Len Holzinger was a model member, actively seeking ways to volunteer – serving on the Board of Directors, technical and membership committees. He encouraged his competitors to join the association because membership made them all stronger. The Award recognized his openness and willingness to share his experience and knowledge through his service to the Association.
The inscription on the Award reads:
For knowledge, time and energy vigorously given to the
Association and its Members.
2006    Alan Shapiro, LAgraphico
2004    Kenneth Lowden, DuPont
2003    Clarence Schawk, Schawk, Inc.
2002    Larry Warter, Fuji Photo Film U.S.A.
2000    Jeffrey Borneman, Colorhouse
1996    Lowell Carlson, Quantech
1992    Frankland L. Cutshall, JPP Graphic Arts Center
1991    William Mullins, Capitol Engraving Company
1991    Paul Hanson, Hanson Graphics
1989    Dr. S. Thomas Dunn, Dunn Technology
1988    Joel Rubin, Phototype Color
1987    Mario Gambaccini, Master Eagle
1986    Robert S. Swan, Swan Engraving
1985    Leonard Holzinger, Photo Mechanical Services, Inc


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs