Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


PIA Announces 2012 Officers and Board of Directors

Press release from the issuing company

Printing Industries of America is pleased to announce the election of its 2012 Officers and Board of Directors. The installation ceremony took place on November 13, 2011, at Printing Industries' Fall Administrative Meetings held in Miami Beach, Florida.

Chair of the Board--Laura Lawton-Forsyth of Lawton Printing, Inc., Spokane, WA. Laura Lawton-Forsyth is President of Lawton Printing, Inc., and File-EZ Folder, Inc., both located in Spokane, WA. A fourth-generation printer, she joined her family business in 2001. Lawton-Forsyth's industry involvement is extensive. She has served the Pacific Printing Industries Association (PPI) since 2002, most recently becoming Board President in 2008. She has been affiliated with Printing Industries of America since 2001, serving as an R&D Committee Member in 2001; Board Member 2002–present; Chair, Young Print Professionals Group, 2004–present; Chair, Education Committee and Executive Committee member 2006–present; and Finance Committee Member, 2008–present. She has also been a Kodak Commercial Printing Advisory Group Member, serving from 2004 to 2007.

First Vice Chairman--Timothy J. Burton of Burton & Mayer, Inc., Menomonee Falls, WI. Timothy Burton is currently the president and chairman of the board for Burton & Mayer. He served as the Chairman of the Association Relations Committee of Printing Industries of America from 2008 to 2010 and has been in the officers ranks nationally since 2007. A Premier Print Awards judge for many years, he has also judged local affiliate contests for PICA, PAF, PIAS, PGAMA, PII, and PINE. He is also involved in several local civic organizations, including Friends of Milwaukee Public Television, Institute for Graphics and Imaging, the Work Services Committee of the Milwaukee Center for Independence, and Paws with a Cause.

Second Vice Chairman--Jeff Ekstein of Willow Printing Group, Concord, Ontario. Ekstein is the third generation in his family to own Willow Printing Group in Concord, Ontario. He has worked in the family business since he was 10 years of age, having carried out pretty much every task one could possibly do in a print shop. Ekstein graduated from York University in Toronto in 1983 with a degree in Economics and Business and then went on to attend the Graphic Arts Certified Executive program from York University and NAPL. Currently the President and CEO at Willow Printing Group, he has spearheaded the acquisition of several printing companies over the years and has most recently acquired a mailing shop. Ekstein is also the current co-chair of Canadian Printing Industries Sector Council, has chaired the Printing Industries Education Committee for two years, and is a Premier Print Awards judge.

Secretary--David A. Olberding Phototype, Cincinnati, OH. Olberding holds a Bachelor’s degree from RIT and an MBA from Ohio University. He has served on the Board for IPA (International Prepress Association) and is a former president of the Southeast Prepress Association. He is also a former chairman of the photography committee of FTA (Flexographic Technical Association). Olberding currently serves as an active member for the GWG (Ghent PDF Workgroup), an international standards group concerning adaption and specifications for PDF.

Treasurer--Michael S. Wurst, of Henry Wurst, Inc., Kansas City, Mo. Wurst is the CEO of Henry Wurst, Inc., a 74-year-old family-owned and managed $85 million commercial printing company. Headquartered in North Kansas City, Missouri, Henry Wurst, Inc., also has facilities in Denver, Colorado. Wurst is actively involved in his local affiliate, Printing & Imaging Association of MidAmerica, Printing Industries of America, and the World Presidents Organization, Entrepreneurial Exchange.

Immediate Past Chairman--Michael Keene of John Roberts Company, Minneapolis, MN. After graduating in 1972, Keene was appointed supervisor of the prepress department at The John Roberts Company and was named Vice President in 1982. Keene has served as president of The John Roberts Company since 1986 and as Chief Executive Officer since 1994. During his tenure, The John Roberts Company has increased market share and maintained a reputation for technical excellence and the effective integration of new technologies. Spearheading the company’s investment in ISO 9001:2000 certification is just one of the ways in which he has led The John Roberts Company into the highly competitive global economy of the 21st century.

Also joining the board of directors in 2012 are Jules Van Sant, affiliate representative on the board from Pacific Printing Industries Association; Robert G. Cullum, Jr. representing Printing Industries Alliance (PBR Graphics); Norvin Hagan representing Printing & Imaging Association of Georgia (Geographics Inc.); and Hal Stratton, representing the vendor community, (Komori).


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs