NAPL Installs New Officers, Board Members

Press release from the issuing company

PARAMUS, N.J., Oct. 13, 2003 – The National Association for Printing Leadership (NAPL), the trade association for the commercial printing industry, has installed new officers and directors to its Board. The induction took place during the Association’s annual meeting, held at the Four Seasons in Chicago, on Sunday, Sept. 28, 2003. New NAPL officers are: Chairman—David C. Branch, chairman and chief executive officer of Branch-Smith Inc., and president of Branch-Smith Printing, Ltd., Fort Worth, Texas; Vice Chairman—Joan Weisman, president and chief operating officer, The Sheridan Press, Hanover, Pa.; Secretary/Treasurer—Stephen Johnson, president, Moore Wallace State Printing, Columbia, S.C. James W. Hyder, Jr., president and chief executive officer, Fetter Printing Company, Louisville, Ky., serves as Immediate Past Chairman. On the NAPL Executive Committee are Bill Gilmer, president, Wordsprint, Inc., Wytheville, Va.; Ben G. Keys, chairman, Keys Printing, Greenville, S.C.; Niels Winther, president and chief executive officer, Heidelberg USA, Inc., Kennesaw, Ga.; William F. Woods, Jr., president and chief executive officer, The EPI Companies, Marietta, Ga.; and Joseph P. Truncale, NAPL president and CEO. New to the Board are Maudie Briggs, president and chief executive officer, Morrison Communications, Inc., Morristown, Tenn., Lynn Poretta, Integration & EHS director, Hallmark Cards, Kansas City, Mo., and Don Duncanson, president, Dynacolor Graphics, Inc., Miami, Fla. (Duncanson previously served on NAPL’s Board and is a past Chairman of the Association.). Elected to their first full terms were Greg D’Amico, director, New York University Graphic Communications Management, New York, N.Y.; Shari Ghoddousi, vice chairman, president and chief executive officer, The John Henry Company, Lansing, Mich., Mark Hoover, president and chief executive officer, Bayshore Press, Scotts Valley, Calif. “NAPL’s new officers and directors are all respected industry leaders who will be a huge asset to the Association,” said NAPL President & CEO Truncale. “I eagerly anticipate working with them and the entire NAPL Board to further NAPL’s mission of serving its members and helping them grow their businesses.” Following are bios on the new NAPL officers: David C. Branch, CGAE Chairman and chief executive officer of Branch-Smith Inc., and president of Branch-Smith Printing, Ltd., Fort Worth, Texas Mr. Branch worked his way through Texas Christian University estimating jobs at Branch-Smith Printing, a fourth-generation printing and magazine publishing firm in Fort Worth, Texas. He remained as a full-time employee after graduation in 1978 and became chairman/CEO of Branch-Smith, Inc. in 1998. In 1990, he was the first NAPL member to earn the designation of Certified Graphic Arts Executive. The Printing Division of Branch-Smith is a sheetfed operation specializing in magazines, catalogs, and other bound products, and includes 70 of the company’s 120 employees. Stephen L. Johnson Regional Vice President, Moore Wallace State Printing, Columbia, S.C. After earning a Bachelor of Science degree in Education from Eastern Illinois University in 1975 and a Master’s degree in Printing and Industrial Management from the Graduate School of Industrial Education at Clemson University in 1976, Mr. Johnson began his printing industry career as a scheduler at R.L. Bryan Company in Columbia, S.C. He joined Graphic Industries, Inc., as president of State Printing in Columbia in 1995. The company was purchased by Wallace Computer Services in 1997, and Steve Johnson was named to his present position in 1999. He is responsible for commercial printing companies owned by Wallace in four states, and continues to serve as president of State Printing. Founded in 1885, Wallace is a commercial sheetfed and web printer with 8,000 employees, including 145 at State Printing. Joan B. Weisman, CBPE President/Chief Operations Officer, The Sheridan Press, Hanover, Pa. Joan Weisman received a Bachelor of Arts degree with an emphasis in Finance from the College of Notre Dame of Maryland, a Master of Business Administration degree from Loyola College of Maryland, and has earned designation as a Certified Business Planning Executive. She joined The Sheridan Press as finance manager in 1995 and has served as its president and chief operating officer since 1996. Founded in 1915, The Sheridan Press is a sheetfed commercial printer with 400 employees and specializes in scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals.