Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Public Printer names new members to Depository Library Council

Press release from the issuing company

Washington - Public Printer Bill Boarman announces the following appointments to the Depository Library Council (DLC).

The Council, composed of 15 members each of whom serves a three year term, advises the Public Printer on policy matters relating to the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). The FDLP provides public access across the United States to the published information of all three branches of the government through partnerships with more than 1,220 libraries.  

"I am honored to appoint these talented individuals to the Council and look forward to their advice on how to advance the mission of the FDLP," said Public Printer Bill Boarman.  "GPO has a strong partnership with the depository library community, which is also the foundation of GPO's mission in disseminating Government documents and information to the public."

The five new DLC members for the June 1, 2011 - June 1, 2014 term are:

Stephanie Braunstein, Assistant Librarian at the Troy H. Middleton Library at the Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, one of Louisiana's two regional libraries. Braunstein's outreach with the library community includes presenting at conferences, partnering with GPO to host an online list of Federal agency web sites, and contributing to Browse Topics, an online subject based portal for government information. She currently serves as Coordinator of the Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) of the American Library Association (ALA) and is the Louisiana Library Association Councilor to ALA.

Donna Lauffer, County Librarian for the Johnson County Library system's 13 branches in Overland Park, Kansas. Lauffer has a strong track record in delivering government information to the public and in promoting civic engagement. Her leadership in support of government information and relevant programming in her library system led to the Johnson County Library being honored as the 2010 Federal Depository Library of the Year.

Susan Lyons, Reference and Government Documents Librarian at the Rutgers University Law School Library in Newark, New Jersey. Lyons' professional interests include digital preservation, authentication, and permanent public access to government information. She has served as Chair of the Government Documents Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Librarians (AALL), President of the New Jersey Law Librarians Association, and President of the Documents Association of New Jersey.

Mark Phillips, Assistant Dean for Digital Libraries at the University of North Texas in Denton, Texas. Phillips specializes in digital collections, knowledge of infrastructure for digital collections, preservation techniques, and web harvesting. He currently serves on the Access Committee in the International Internet Preservation Consortium (IIPC) and the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative's, Dublin Core Library Profile Workgroup.

Arlene Weible, Government Documents and Technical Services Librarian at the Oregon State Library in Salem, Oregon. Weible has a broad background in technical services and public services, and experience working in state and academic libraries. She currently serves on the National Digital Stewardship Alliance and the regional coordinator for Oregon's intrastate shared regional, a successful shared housing arrangement that serves the depository libraries in Oregon.


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs