Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Franklin Award recipient for 2010 announced

Press release from the issuing company

New York, NY,  - The Printing Industries Alliance (PIA) announced today that legendary music industry executive Clive Davis will be accepting this year's Franklin Award for Distinguished Service at its 2010 Franklin Event.

Davis, who serves currently as Chief Creative Officer for all of SONY BMG ENTERTAINMENT, the world's second largest record company, has played a pivotal role in the careers of countless landmark artists including Janis Joplin, Santana, Billy Joel, Neil Diamond, Miles Davis, Simon & Garfunkel, Bob Dylan, Barbara Streisand, Herbie Hancock, Bruce Springsteen, Whitney Houston, Barry Manilow, Patti Smith, Brooks & Dunn, and Brad Paisley among many others.

The Franklin Award for Distinguished Service is considered as the industry's highest honor. It will be bestowed upon Mr. Davis at the Franklin Event scheduled at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers (5:30-10:00 pm) on Wednesday, September 29. 

Due to anticipated increased attendance, the early bird deadline dates for Franklin Event sponsorships and Zenger Medal nominations have been extended to July 31.  Platinum sponsorships (reserved table of ten), normally $5,000 are $4,000; Gold sponsorships (reserved table of five), normally $2,500 are $2,000. Individual tickets are $350 each.  Final deadline for all sponsorships is Sept. 3.  Platinum sponsors to date include Xerox Corporation, Printing News, HudsonYards, and Sandy Alexander, Inc. Anyone interested in participating should contact PIA Vice President Vicki Keenan at (908) 233-4124 or [email protected] 

Also being honored with Power of Communications Awards will be: For Printing:  Hallie Satz (HighRoad Press/Phoenix Lithographing); for Advertising: Valerie Merone (Victoria's Secret Direct); and for Publishing: Scott Masterson (FORBES Magazines).   Nominations of industry individuals working in New York, northern NJ or northwestern PA for the Zenger Medal are being accepted until July 31.