Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Recent Franklin Event Draws Record-Breaking Crowd

Press release from the issuing company

October 1, 2007 - This year's prestigious Franklin Event, held for the first time in its 55-year history under the auspices of Printing Industries Alliance (PIA) at Pier Sixty, New York City on September 18, 2007, drew a record-breaking crowd of 550 attendees and 49 corporate sponsors.
Of particular note was the stellar roster of award recipients. Internationally known lifestyle communicator, Martha Stewart, founder of Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, was given the graphic communications industry's highest honor, the  Franklin Award for Distinguished Service.
The Award recognizes the achievements of outstanding leaders and communicators. In years past, it has been bestowed upon numerous U.S. presidents, diplomats, New York and New Jersey governors, and Mayors Michael Bloomberg and Rudolph Giuliani, as well as notables such as Norman Rockwell, Walter Cronkite, Margaret Mead, Larry King, Henry Kissinger, Hyman Rickover, and many others.
"We chose Martha Stewart as our Franklin recipient because she is the personification of the spirit of Benjamin Frankin and of our industry," said Co-Chair Diane Romano (HudsonYards). "Graphic executives admire and respect her not only as an entrepreneur and accomplished chief executive, but as a uniquely talented individual who has built a multi-faceted business that she makes better every day."
Ms. Stewart opened her nationally syndicated television program the following day by thanking PIA for the honor, showing a close-up shot of her engraved Franklin statuette, and delivering numerous quotes of Benjamin Franklin, whom she acknowledged as one of her personal heroes.
Power of Communications Awards were bestowed to the following individuals among respective categories: For Printing: Lester Samuels, Managing Partner, Pictorial Offset Corporation; For Publishing: David Orlin, Senior Vice President, Operations and Strategic Sourcing, Conde Nast Publications; and For Advertising:
Michele Unger, Senior Vice President, Director of Content Operations, Grey New York.
A new award, the Zenger Medal, was presented to Betty Maul, President, FrontEnd Graphics, for her tireless efforts on behalf of Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy Syndrome, a devastating disease that affects thousands of individuals, many of them young people.
"All of these individuals are top-notch, well liked and respected professionals within their fields," added Ms. Romano. "We were extremely pleased to recognize each one-the value they bring to our graphics community is evidenced by the hundreds of peers who came out to celebrate their accomplishments."
"Tonight's Franklin Event also signifies the industry's unity and spirit of purpose within the regional PIA footprint," noted co-chair Gary Marron (HIFLEX Corporation, NA). "There is no doubt that our industry is not only alive and well, but one that will be thriving for many years to come."
Platinum sponsors of the event included: Agfa Corporation, Brown Printing, CGI North America, CGS Publishing Technologies International LLC, Central Lewmar, Color by Pergament LLC, Continental Web, Earth Color-Thebault, Eastman Kodak Corporation, Gould Paper Corporation-NY, Graytor Printing Company, HA Metzger, Hewlett-Packard, HIFLEX Corporation North America, HudsonYards, International Paper, Mohawk Fine Papers, Inc., Pantone, Inc., Pictorial Offset Corporation, Pitman Company, Printing News, Quad/Graphics, Quebecor World, RR Donnelley, Sandy Alexander, Inc., Sappi Fine Papers, Sun Chemical, Superior Printing Ink Company, Inc., and Xerox Corporation.
Gold sponsors included: Adobe, American Color, Amper, Politziner & Mattia, Astoria Graphics, Color Edge Visual, Dalim Software, Fujifilm Graphic Systems USA, Inc., Lehigh Direct, Lindenmeyr Munroe, MargolisBecker, National Energy Services Corporation, Northstar Recycling Group, Presstek, Ramsey Press, Reliable Paper Recycling, Southern Lithoplate, Inc., Spectragraphic Inc., Utica National Insurance Group, Verso Paper and xpedx.