Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas for 2008 Named by Printing Association of Florida

Press release from the issuing company

Orlando, Florida--September 26, 2008--The Printing Association of Florida (PAF) is proud to name the recipients for the Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas (GALA) award for 2008. Barry Meinerth, senior vice president, production and fulfillment, Time, Inc., and Felix Enrique Cortes Pinto, president of F.I.G.E.(Graphic Industry Federation of Ecuador), have been named Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas for North and Latin America for 2008. Both gentlemen will be receiving their awards before an international audience of graphic arts industry leaders and guests at the 25th annual GALA Award Banquet and Reception, Wednesday, February 27 in Miami, Florida, in conjunction with Graphics of the Americas' 2008 exhibition and conference.
Established in 1982, the GALA Award is one of the printing industry's most prestigious recognitions awarded to two outstanding industry professionals each year. GALA recipients (one each from North America and Latin America) are nominated by PIA/GATF affiliates and CONLATINGRAF (Confederación Latinoamericana de la Industria Gráfica) members and are chosen for their leadership in areas of management, technology, business and quality; as well as their contributions to the graphic arts industry, their community and society in general. Since its inauguration 25 years ago,, the GALA award symbolizes not only industry excellence but also the linking of the Americas and two major industry associations.
Barry Meinerth   
Barry Meinerth was named senior vice president of production and fulfillment at Time, Inc. in July 2001 where he oversees the production and fulfillment of the company's magazines.
Meinerth joined Time Inc. in 1974 as an MBA trainee, starting in corporate manufacturing and distribution. His production career was interrupted by assignments as business manager at Time International and Discover and as circulation director of Time International. In 1989 he was appointed Fortune's production director. From 1990 to 1996 he worked in a number of senior production posts and in July 1996 was named vice president, production.
Meinerth has served on a number of industry boards including Idealliance, Print & Graphics Scholarship Fund, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and New York University's Graphic Communications, Management and Technology Center. In addition, he has also been a principal for a day in the New York City public school system.
Meinerth was raised in Massachusetts and graduated from Norwich University with a B.S. degree and from New York University with an M.B.A. degree. He served six years on active duty as an infantry officer and retired as a Lieutenant Colonel.
Meinerth enjoys fishing and skiing and is an enthusiastic traveler. He's also a lifetime member of the Blohards.    
Meinerth joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this high honor. Past North American GALA recipients include Robert Havrilla (1994), Wallace Stettinius (1995), Roy Winn Luckett (1996), Howard C. "Buzz" Webber, Jr. (1997), Donald Duncanson (1998), Mark G. Jorgensen (1999), Bob Murphy (2000), Joe Arriola (2001), Hans Peetz-Larsen (2002), Ray Roper (2003), Jerry Williamson (2004), Warren Wilkins (2005), John Wurst (2006), and Thomas Quadracci (2007).
"The printing industries of both continents continue to prosper, driven by leaders such as Barry Meinerth and Enrique Cortes," said George Ryan, president of the Printing Association of Florida. "Their work has not only earned them these awards, but has benefited the industry at large, in both North and Latin America."
Felix Enrique Cortes Pinto
Felix Enrique Cortes Pinto is the president of F.I.G.E., entering the printing business in the 1980s as founder of PUBLYGRAF, a printing firm specializing in promotional and printed plastic products. Cortes went on to become a member of A.I.G., a graphic industry association in Ecuador, and since 1987, served in a variety of leadership positions since 1995 and as president from 1999 through 2005. Subsequently, he went on to become president of F.I.G.E. (Graphic Industry Federation of Ecuador) as well as president of CEFORCOM, the Ecuadorian Corporation for Shared Professional Education.
During his leadership at A.I.G., he drove numerous educational initiatives designed to improve the competitive position of the Ecuadorian graphic arts industry as well as working conditions for its employees. Highlights of these initiatives include working closely with the Center for Studies at the Quito Chamber of Commerce to offer a variety of industry-specific training programs and with SECAP Ecuadorian Service for Professional Education to help strengthen course offerings as well as the creation of a bachelor's equivalency degree for graphic arts students. In addition, Cortes also launched programs with The Metropolitan Institute of Design OG Mandino University, Foundation for Quality, The Corfopym Corporation, The Wall Street Institute, FEDEXPR (Ecuadorian Federation of Exporters), and Lions Club in Quito on behalf of A.I.G. members and the graphic arts industry of Ecuador.
As president of F.I.G.E., Cortes presided over the 63th Conlatingraph assembly held in Quito and in 2003, was elected to Conlatingraf's board of consultants. In addition, he led Ecuador in winning second-place honors in the Theobaldo de Nigris, Conlatingraf's printing competition as well as subsequent competitions thereafter.
Cortes has a bachelor's degree in agricultural and livestock sciences as well as a professorship in tropical agriculture from The Central University of Ecuador. In addition, Cortes has participated in sales leadership courses and is a founding student of Dale Carnegie School in Ecuador. He is a closer follower of the sport of soccer and well read on the subject of management and leadership.        
Cortes joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this coveted honor. Past Latin American GALA recipients include Esteban Ramallo, Puerto Rico (1983), Armando De Armas, Sr., Venezuela (1984), Adolfo Carvajal, Colombia (1985), Armando Birlain, Mexico (1987), Nassin Yahri, El Salvador (1988), Max Heinz Gunther Schrappe, Brazil (1989), Manuel Soberon Salguiero, Mexico (1990), Herman Zupan, Argentina (1991), Francisco Valdevieso, Ecuador (1992), Nestor Mendes, Paraguay (1993), Juan Antonio Alducin Garcia de Presno, Mexico (1994), Luis Vera Giannini, Chile (1995), Dr. Alfried Karl Ploger, Brazil (1996), Alberto Umaña Carrizosa, Columbia (1997) Angel Moreno, Costa Rica (1998) Cesar Gonzalez Samohod, Chile (1999), Antonio Tabanelli, Sr., Argentina (2000), Lourival Dantas Novaes, Brazil (2001), Jose Luis Zamora Contreras, Mexico (2002), Anselmo Morvillo, Argentina (2003), Ernesto Salviat Wetzig, Chile (2004), Mario Cesar de Camargo, Brazil (2005), Fernando Leiro, Argentina (2006), and Francisco (Paco) Alberto Avila Ruiz, Mexico (2007).