Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


NAPL Names David Branch 2006 Soderstrom Honoree

Press release from the issuing company

PARAMUS, N.J., AUGUST 22, 2006 – The Soderstrom Society of NAPL (www.napl.org), the trade association for excellence in graphic communications management, has named David C. Branch, chairman and chief executive officer of Branch-Smith Resources Ltd., and president of Branch-Smith Printing Ltd., Fort Worth, Texas, recipient of the 46th annual Walter E. Soderstrom Award. One of the graphic communications industry’s most prestigious honors, the award will be presented to Branch by Joan B. Davidson, president and chief operating officer, The Sheridan Press, Hanover, Pa., at the annual, invitation-only dinner meeting of NAPL’s Walter E. Soderstrom Society, on Monday, Oct. 16, 2006, at the Mid-America Club in Chicago. "David optimizes all the qualities that continue to drive our industry forward—a steadfast commitment to excellence, an openness to innovation, and an eagerness to serve,” said Joseph P. Truncale, NAPL president and chief executive officer. “NAPL and the industry at large have benefited greatly from David’s involvement and guidance and all of us at NAPL congratulate him on this honor.” Named for the late Walter E. Soderstrom, one of the founders of NAPL, the award has been bestowed annually since 1961 to a distinguished individual who has contributed significantly to the development and progress of the printing industry. The recipient is selected by fellow members of the Soderstrom Society, an honors organization that provides industry leaders with the opportunity to exchange ideas, suggest improved practices, and recognize the contributions of their peers, including printing firm owners, equipment manufacturers, consultants, and educators. A distinguished career David C. Branch is chairman and chief executive officer of Branch-Smith Resources Ltd., a fourth-generation family business with printing and publishing interests in Fort Worth, Texas, and president of Branch-Smith Printing Ltd., which employs 85 of the parent company’s 120 employees. In keeping with its mission, to provide “Expert Solutions for Publishers,” Branch-Smith specializes in trade and corporate publications, catalogs, magazines, books, and other bound products. Under Mr. Branch’s leadership, Branch-Smith Printing, which has been ISO 9001 certified since 1996, has received numerous awards, including the 2002 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s premier award for performance excellence and quality achievement. The company has been honored as the Texas Business of the Year by the Texas Association of Business and Chambers of Commerce and the Texas Family Business of the Year by Baylor University, and is the recipient of multiple NAPL Management Plus Gold Awards for management excellence. Active in the Baldrige National Quality Program, administered by the Department of Commerce, Mr. Branch has served on the program’s Board of Examiners and is 2006 chairman of the Panel of Judges for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. He is also chairman of the Board for Quality Texas, which governs the Texas Award for Performance Excellence, an honor received by Branch-Smith Printing in 1999. With a long-term involvement in industry associations, Branch has served as chairman of NAPL and is a board member of the Graphic Arts Show Company. A believer in industry education and life-long learning, Branch was the first member of NAPL to earn the designation of Certified Graphic Arts Executive in 1990. Holding a BBA from Texas Christian University, he later earned an MBA from Dallas Baptist University with a concentration in E-Business. A supporter of local civic organizations, Mr. Branch has served on the boards of Goodwill Industries of Fort Worth and the Longhorn Council of the Boy Scouts and is a past President of the Rotary Club of Fort Worth.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. More info about drupa programs