Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


North and South American Leaders to be Honored at Printing Association of Florida's GALA 2006 Award Night

Press release from the issuing company

Orlando, Florida—January 3, 2005 -- The Printing Association of Florida (PAF) is proud to announce the award recipients for their annual Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas (GALA) award. Fernando Leiro, Director of Artes Graficas Modernas S.A. and John Wurst, Chairman of Henry Wurst, Inc. have been named Graphic Arts Leaders of the Americas for South and North America for 2006. Both men will be receiving their awards before hundreds of industry leaders and guests at the 23rd annual GALA Award Banquet and Reception, Friday, February 3 in Miami Beach, Florida, in conjunction with Graphics of the Americas’ 2006 exhibition and conference. Established in 1982, the GALA Award is one of the printing industry’s most prestigious recognitions awarded to two outstanding industry professionals each year. GALA recipients (one each from North America and Latin America) are nominated by PIA affiliates and Conlatingraf members and chosen for their leadership in areas of management, technology, business and quality, as well as their contributions to the graphic arts industry, their community and society in general. Since its inaugural 23 years ago, merging with the previous Latin American Leaders “Man of the Year Award” given by the Confederación Latinoamericana de la Industria Gráfica (CONLATINGRAF), the GALA award symbolizes not only industry excellence but also the linking of the Americas and two major industry associations. Fernando Leiro Fernando Leiro started his graphic industry activities in 1963 working with his father in a small letterpress shop. When his father died in 1976 he assumed management of the company. In 1985, he embarked on a very new printing venture. As an outstanding observer and visionary, noticing worldwide printing tendencies, he recognized the markets need for high definition quality labels. Accepting the challenge he acquired in 1991 the first 6-color letterpress equipment with rotary die cutting and hot stamping units brought to Argentina. Leiro’s commitment to education began in 1989 when he became a board member of the Gutenberg Foundation, an institute specializing in Graphic Industry education. Soon Fernando Leiro’s task surpassed the official functions he held when he started. His continuous and unconditional support of the Gutenberg Foundation, offering development and diversified education, is fundamental for maintaining a solid base for the requirements of an Upper School of Professional Graphic education assuring consolidation locally and in the Americas. John Wurst John Wurst attended Kansas City Junior College, Stanford University and was a 1951 Business School graduate of the University of Kansas. During the Korean War he served in the U.S. Army assigned to a map producing Topographic Battalion. Wurst has been Chairman of the National Advisory Council for Printing Education at Pittsburgh State University, the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation, The National Scholarship Trust Fund and the PIA Web Offset Section. He is also a member of the NAPL’s Soderstrom Society, GATF’s Society of Fellows, PIA’s Ash Khan Society, Web Offset Society - President’s Society, Kansas City PIA Man of the Year recipient and the 2002 Recipient of the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award. He is also very active in the leadership of local Kansas City Civic foundations. “The printing industries in North and Latin America have greatly benefited from the influence of both Fernando Leiro and John Wurst,” said Mike Streibig, president of the Printing Association of Florida. “Their hard work and dedication to their individual companies and the industry at large have earned them these honors.” Leiro joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this coveted honor. Past Latin American GALA recipients include Esteban Ramallo, Puerto Rico (1983), Armando De Armas, Sr., Venezuela (1984), Adolfo Carvajal, Colombia (1985), Armando Birlain, Mexico (1987), Nassin Yahri, El Salvador (1988), Max Heinz Gunther Schrappe, Brazil (1989), Manuel Soberon Salguiero, Mexico (1990), Herman Zupan, Argentina (1991), Francisco Valdevieso, Ecuador (1992), Nestor Mendes, Paraguay (1993), Juan Antonio Alducin Garcia de Presno, Mexico (1994), Luis Vera Giannini, Chile (1995), Dr. Alfred Karl Ploger, Brazil (1996), Alberto Umaña Carrizosa, Columbia (1997) Angel Moreno, Costa Rica (1998) Cesar Gonzalez Samohod, Chile (1999), Antonio Tabanelli, Sr., Argentina (2000), Lourival Dantas Novaes, Brazil (2001), Jose Luis Zamora Contreras, Mexico (2002), Anselmo Morvillo, Argentina (2003), Ernesto Salviat Wetzig, Chile (2004) and Mario Cesar de Camargo, Brazil (2005). Wurst joins a distinguished group of industry notables who have earned this coveted honor. Past North American GALA recipients include Robert Havrilla (1994), Wallace Stettinius (1995), Roy Winn Luckett (1996), Howard C. “Buzz” Webber, Jr. (1997), Donald Duncanson (1998), Mark G. Jorgensen (1999), Bob Murphy (2000), Joe Arriola (2001), Hans Peetz-Larsen (2002), Ray Roper (2003), Jerry Williamson (2004) and Warren Wilkins (2005). In 1999, former Conlatingraph “Man of the Year” winners from 1983 to 1993 were invited back to Miami Beach to be formally inducted in the Graphics of the Americas Leaders Hall of Fame and have their names inscribed on the Eagle bust that is on display at the PAF headquarters in Orlando.