Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Dr. Cynthia Gillispie-Johnson Named Educator of the Year

Press release from the issuing company

Pittsburgh, Pa., August 25, 2005 -- The Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF) announces Dr. Cynthia Gillispie-Johnson of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State College as the recipient of the 2005 Educator of the Year award. Johnson received her B.S. degree from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, M.S. degree from University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and her Ph.D. degree from Virginia Polytechnic and State University. She joined the faculty at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (NCA&TSU), School of Technology, Department of Graphic Communication Systems and Technological Studies (Printing and Publishing Program) in August 1997 as an assistant professor. She was named the chairperson of the department in August 2004. She also has consortium graduate faculty status at Indiana State University. During her tenure at NCA&TSU, she was honored for outstanding advisor of her department , and in the 2004–2005 school year she received the outstanding advisor award for the School of Technology. Gillispie-Johnson’s other awards include International Who’s Who of Professional and Business Women, International Who’s Who of Historical Society, and Who’s Who Among American Teachers. She presently serves as the president of the International Graphic Arts Education Association (IGAEA) and hosted the 78th IGAEA Conference. She has also served as secretary and president-elect of IGAEA, as well as on the Accreditation Review and Editorial Review Board of the National Association of Industrial Technology and United States Department of Education, CSRS. She has a number of funded research and published articles to her credit. She also holds membership in Phi Kappa Phi Honors Society; Flexographic Technical Association; Technical Association of the Graphic Arts; Omicron Tau Theta (national graduate honorary professional society in vocational education); Epsilon Pi Tau, Gamma Zeta Chapter; American Business Women’s Association; Delta Pi Epsilon (national business education honor society); and National Association of University Women. PGSF will present Dr. Cynthia Gillispie-Johnson with the award on Monday, September 12, 2005 at the Research and Engineering Council breakfast during PRINT 05 and CONVERTINGSM 05 at McCormick Place in Chicago, Illinois.