Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Adobe Announces Call for Entries for 2005 Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Press release from the issuing company

SAN JOSE, Calif.--Nov. 22, 2004-- Adobe Systems Incorporated today announced a call for entries in its Fifth Annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, which this year expands to ten countries and nine competition categories. The awards honor the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers and computer artists from the world's top design, film and broadcast institutions. For the first time students from Australia, Austria, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand and Switzerland are invited to participate. They will join entrants from the United States, Canada and United Kingdom in submitting projects in nine categories including environmental graphics, digital illustration, digital photography/imaging, interactive design, print design, self-expression and time-based media. Two newly inaugurated categories -- animation and broadcast design -- broaden the scope of this year's video submissions. "The Adobe Design Achievement Awards has become the premier awards program for student design. The program recognizes the best and the brightest design students, and for many winners launches their careers in the creative profession," said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications at Adobe. "By opening the competition to students worldwide, and providing more opportunities to win, the program continues to cultivate a new generation of technological innovation and creative inspiration." Using Adobe's design platforms, such as Adobe Creative Suite and Adobe Video Collection software, students submit projects and are judged by an independent panel of six judges, including such industry luminaries as Matthew Richmond from Chopping Block, Gail Anderson from Spot Design, Kathy Fredrickson from Studio Blue, Dean Velez from Gannett Production Services, Dava Guthmiller from Noise 13, and Frank Gladstone from Dreamworks SKG. Judges will select winners based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities. Finalists will receive a trip to New York City to participate in the awards event, and an opportunity to showcase their work. Winners also will meet with leading industry professionals during studio tours and the ceremony. First place entries will receive US$5,000 and a selection of Adobe products. Students will be able to submit entries from March 14, 2005, to April 29, 2005. The entries will be judged in May, with the finalists contacted shortly thereafter. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on July 21, 2005, at the Guggenheim Museum in New York City.