Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Graphic Arts Accrediting Council Names New Officers

Press release from the issuing company

October 22, 2004 -- The Accrediting Council for Collegiate Graphic Communications (ACCGC) named new officers at its annual meeting at Graph Expo in Chicago. Harvey Levenson (Cal Poly) was elected president and succeeds Jesus Rodriguez (Pittsburg State University) who served as the ACCGC president for the past two years. James Workman (PIA/GATF) was elected vice president and succeeds Bill George (Kodak Polychrome Graphics). Jerry Waite (University of Houston) was re-elected treasurer, and Scott Williams (Georgia Southern University) was re-elected secretary. Adrian Bernagozzi continues to serve as acting managing director. The ACCGC, incorporated in 1998, reviews and accredits college and university programs offering baccalaureate degrees in graphic communication and related disciplines. The mission of the ACCGC is to provide viable, credible, and defensible accreditation standards that can be used by graphic communication or related programs to strengthen them, to enhance and maintain quality of instruction, to stimulate the exchange of ideas between academia and industry, and to provide recognition to those programs that achieve and maintain acceptable standards in preparing students to enter the graphic communication profession. To date three graphic communication programs have been accredited. They are programs at Ferris State University, Florida A&M University, and Cal Poly State University. By meeting or exceeding the rigid criteria for accreditation that has been established by the ACCGC, these programs have been certified as providing graphic communication education in technology and management that addresses the needs of today’s industry while turning out well informed and well educated graduates. Two additional institutions of higher education have requested an ACCGC accreditation review of their graphic communication programs to commence during the 2004 – 2005 academic year. Besides the executive officers, the ACCGC is composed of a board of directors from education and industry including: David Barbaras, Central Missouri State University Lenore Collins, Rhode Island College Steven Fullerton, Kodak Polychrome Graphics Larry Kroll, Heidelberg USA James Lentz, Pennsylvania College of Technology Rebecca Miller, Quad/Graphics, Inc. Jeanne Mowlds, Electronic Document Systems Foundation Arvid Mukes, Florida A&M University William Papo, Ferris State University Nick Patrissi, Creo Americas Jesus Rodriguez, Pittsburg State University Sam Schiff, Schiff Printing Company Thomas Schildgen, Arizona State University Charles Spontelli, Bowling Green State University