Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Adobe Announces Winners of 2004 Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Press release from the issuing company

SAN JOSE, Calif.--July 30, 2004-- Adobe Systems Incorporated today announced the winners of the fourth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, a program that recognizes talented student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators and digital filmmakers. Using the latest Adobe products, more than 1,400 students from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom competed in the annual competition. "The Design Achievement Awards is part of our mission to nurture the communities that have helped us grow as a business and inspire us to deliver great products and technologies," said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president, Corporate Marketing and Communications at Adobe Systems. "We see this competition as the beginning of a lifelong relationship between Adobe and the talented student winners who will certainly go onto establish themselves in successful careers in creative professions." In a ceremony last night at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts in San Francisco, students were recognized for their achievements in the following categories: In the group print collaboration category, the winners are: first place, Samuel Farfsing and Brian Roettinger, California Institute of the Arts; second place, Nikolai Cornell and Shawn Randall, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, Calif.; and third place, Man Hui Chan and Elizabeth Craig, California College of the Arts In the print category, the winners are: first place, G. Dan Covert, California College of the Arts, San Francisco; second place, Leon Yan, California Institute of the Arts; and third place, Michael Morris, California College of the Arts In the illustration category, the winners are: first place, Jayme Yen, Yale School of Art, New Haven, Conn.; second place, Chanho Lee, California Institute of the Arts; and third place, Junghwa Moon, Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY In the photography category, the winners are: first place, Nathan Baker, Columbia College, Chicago; second place, Chiedozie Ukachukwu, Parsons School of Design, New York; and third place, Jason Ross, Kendall College of Art and Design, Grand Rapids, MI In the time-based media category, the winners are: first place, Adam Lieber, Royal College of Arts, London; second place, Jun Seo Hahm, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, Calif.; and third place, Ryan Corey, California Institute of the Arts As part of this year's awards program, Adobe organized a day of tours through San Francisco's top design studios. Twelve studios opened their doors to allow students to meet with the principles and see, first hand, how a professional studio operates. First, second and third place winners also received airfare to San Francisco and hotel accommodations. In addition, first place winners in the group category received US$5,000 to be split amongst the team members, and each member received a choice of an Adobe collection. First place winners in the individual categories received prizes of US$5,000 cash and their choice of ten Adobe products. The judges also awarded 23 honorable mentions. The winning entries can be viewed at www.adobe.com/education/winners. Judges for this year's awards include: Alexander Gelman, founding partner and president of Design Machine in New York, Andrew Blauvelt, design director of the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, Carol Bokuniewicz, principal of Carol Bokuniewicz Design in New York, Karin Fong, director and designer of Imaginary Forces in Los Angeles, and Lucille Tenazas, principal of Tenazas Design in San Francisco.