Adobe Announces Winners of 2003 Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Press release from the issuing company

SAN JOSE, Calif.--Aug. 8, 2003-- Adobe Systems Incorporated, the leader in network publishing, today announced the winners of the third annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, a program that recognizes the most talented and promising students of graphic design, illustration, digital film and computer art from leading design schools. Using the latest Adobe products, nearly 1,000 college students from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom competed in seven categories ranging from print and photography, to digital media. "Over 20 years ago Adobe launched the desktop publishing revolution with technology that enabled creative individuals to use the personal computer as a means of expression," said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president of Corporate Marketing and Communications at Adobe. "With the Adobe Design Achievement Awards, our journey with the design community continues as we foster a new generation of designers, showcase remarkable student work, and kick start some promising young careers." In a ceremony last night at the Art Institute of Chicago, students were recognized for achievements that assimilated the powerful convergence of technology with creative artistic expression. In the time-based media category, the winners are: First place Philippe Vendrolini from California College of Arts and Crafts, San Francisco Second place Toby Kaufmann-Buhler from Royal College of Art, London Third place Danielle Aubert from Yale University, New Haven, Conn. In the illustration category, the winners are: First place Yasushi Umibe from Academy of Art College, San Francisco Second place Heesun Shin from the School of Visual Arts, New York Third place Joeng-kwon Gye from Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY In the photography category, the winners are: First place Anthony Guagliano from Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, Calif. Second place Melissa Fatto from Parsons School of Design, Toronto Third place Kimberlee Whaley from Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Minneapolis In the print category, the winners are: First place Danielle Aubert from Yale University Second place Alexander Shoukas from Art Center College of Design Third place Hirotomi Suzuki from Academy of Art College In the group print media category, the winners are: First place Jae-Hyouk Sung and Matthew Normand from California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, Calif. Second place Andrew Bennet and Raffi Simonian from California Institute of the Arts Third place Elizabeth Buchta and Alisa Benfey from California Institute of the Arts In two categories, the group digital media and experimental design, judges selected one winner. The team of Evan Schoonmaker and Eric Finkelman from the School of Visual Arts won in the group digital media category, and Willy Wong from Yale University won in the experimental design category. The judges also awarded 29 honorable mentions. Judges for the awards include: Noreen Morioka, cofounder AdamsMorioka; Alexander Gelman, founding partner and president, Design Machine; Robynne Ray, cofounder Modern Dog; J.J. Sedelmaier, creative director and president, J.J. Sedelmaier Productions, Inc.; and Carlos Segura, founder Segura, Inc. Winners were selected based on overall impact, design execution and level of technical capabilities. First place winners received US$5,000, a trip to Chicago to attend the awards ceremony, a tour of top design studios in the Chicago area, and a selection of Adobe products. The winning entries can be viewed at www.adobe.com/education/winners.