Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


AGC To Honor Top Industry Professionals At 51St Annual Franklin Event

Press release from the issuing company

NEW YORK, March 20, 2003 – The Association of Graphic Communications (AGC) will award three distinguished leaders of the graphic communications world with the esteemed Power of Communications Award. Francis R. Costello, president of R.R. Donnelley’s publishing division, Angelo Rivello, senior vice president at Newsweek, and Robert J. Stabler, president of Agfa Graphics Systems will be honored by the AGC at the 51st Annual Franklin Event to be held on May 15th. The Power of Communications Award is given to leaders in the field of graphic communications in recognition of their positive influence, creative excellence and outstanding achievements in the world of communications and publishing. All three of this year’s recipients have not only excelled within their own careers but have also left an indelible mark on the graphic communication industry. Francis R. Costello, president of R.R. Donnelley’s Consumer Magazine Services, joined R.R. Donnelley in 1982 and worked his way up through the ranks to become one of the foremost leaders at the company. He also serves on several advisory boards including the Advisory Board of the Center for Graphic Communications at New York University. Angelo Rivello, Newsweek’s Senior Vice President responsible for distribution and worldwide operations, has been with the company for over 28 years and has led several major operation changes throughout the years. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of New York University’s Center for Graphic Communications and Technology, where he also serves as an adjunct faculty member at the NYU Center for Publishing. Robert Stabler, president of Agfa Graphic Systems, has been with the Agfa Corporation for over 20 years, serving in a variety of sales, marketing and management positions. Originally from England, Stabler relocated to the United States four years ago to head up Afga’s Consumer Imaging business and has continued to excel and lead the company and the industry into the future of graphic communications. Past recipients of this award include: David J. Scholes, President and CEO, Rapp Collins Worldwide, New York; Frank D. Steenburgh, Senior Vice President, Xerox Corporation; Robert M. Johnson, Chairman & CEO, Bowne & Company; Donna Hanover, WNYW TV-Fox 5; Alair Townsend, Crain's; Liz Smith, Columnist; David Jurist and Fred Goldstein, Tanagraphics; John Dreyer, Pitman Company; and Lawrence Herbert, Pantone. The awards will be presented at the 51st Annual Franklin Event to be held on May 15th at The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. In addition to the Power of Communications Awards, AGC will honor New York Governor George E. Pataki with the 51st Annual Franklin Award for Distinguished Service, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of world leaders and dedicated Americans. AGC will also present local printers, Victor and Sandy Triolo of First Impressions, with the newly created Benjamin Franklin Industry Service Award, which was established to honor individuals who have a long history of serving the AGC. As in previous years, a portion of the proceeds from the evening will be donated to Literacy Partners, and this year a portion will go to New York City’s public schools as well, via the school system’s new Office of Strategic Partnerships. Caroline Kennedy, the office’s Chief Executive, has been invited to receive the special donation from the AGC. This year's Franklin Event is being co-chaired by Martin Maloney of Broadford & Maloney Inc., and Wendy Kleinman of WK Planning Ltd. The Franklin Event committee has more than twenty members representing the industry's leading companies. The Platinum Sponsors of this year’s event include: Agfa Corporation, AGT.seven, FLM Graphics, Heidelberg, JP Morgan Chase, Kodak Polychrome Graphics, Newsweek, Pitman Company, Quad Graphics, R.R. Donnelley and Time, Inc. Over 400 top printing, publishing, and corporate executives are expected to attend the 2003 Annual Franklin Event at The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers, which is operated by Abigail Kirsch, the New York area’s pre-eminent caterer. The evening begins with cocktails at 5:30 p.m., followed by the presentation ceremony and buffet dinner. Reservations are available by mail from the AGC at 330 Seventh Avenue, 9th floor, New York, NY 10001; telephone 212-279-2100 ext.107; fax 212-279-5381. The cost is $300 per person (MasterCard, Visa and American Express accepted), with special silver, gold and platinum sponsorships available that range from $1,250 for two tickets to $5,000 for ten tickets.