Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


IPA Elects Industry Leaders to Board

Press release from the issuing company

Edina, Minnesota -- November, 2002 -- David Schawk, Schawk, Inc., was elected 2nd vice chairman of IPA, the Association of Graphic Solutions Providers, at the Annual IPA Management Conference, held recently in Savannah, Georgia. Making the announcement, IPA's Chairman of the Board Mike Danz, Imperial, Milwaukee, said, "I am very excited that David Schawk has been elected vice chairman. David has always been active and extremely committed to the success of our Association. Without question, he is a leader in our industry so his insight into understanding how IPA can serve the industry and benefit the membership in the future will be invaluable. I look forward to working with him in his new role." Commenting on his new position on the IPA Executive Committee, Schawk emphasized the dynamic role IPA plays in the graphic communication world. "IPA is the only association that addresses the needs of the evolving prepress company as it becomes a total service provider. Our industry has experienced dramatic change and IPA is continually analyzing its programs and services to ensure it is helping members meet the challenges of change, "he stated." I look forward to serving as an officer of an organization that represents the total graphic solutions provider." Schawk joins Executive Committee members Danz and Kent Hatterick, Beck Graphic Solution, Atlanta, 1st vice chairman, who are serving second terms in their respective offices. Also on the Executive Committee are Craig Hanson, Professional Litho, Minneapolis, treasurer; Robert Swan, Fairfield, Connecticut, secretary; Al Shapiro, LAgraphico, Los Angeles; and Lee Webster, R.R. Donnelley, Downers Grove, Illinois. A member-driven Association, IPA enjoys a Board that embraces both management and technical expertise in a complete workflow, from design through prepress to final output, including ink-on-paper as well as electronic delivery. New members elected to three-year terms on the board are Paul Baudhuin, Digital Color, Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin; Tim Bender, Digicon Imaging, Buffalo, New York; John Castaldi, Rainier Color, Seattle; Bob Childs, Digital Color Image, Pennsauken, New Jersey; and Fred Tochterman, Lehigh Press-Colortronics. Welcoming the new board members, Danz said, "I am pleased to acknowledge the new members to our Board of Directors. Each brings critical experience and new perspectives to our Association. The level of commitment to IPA by so many of our members is always amazing to me. With their expressed willingness and formal acceptance, these gentlemen reinforce all that is good about IPA. As chairman, I would like to personally thank them for their active participation. I know they will enjoy being part of such a hard working and dedicated group of board members." In addition to the new members, the following also serve on the IPA Board of Directors: Henry Baughman, Southern Graphic Systems, Louisville, Kentucky; Joe Demharter, Pitman Company, Totowa, New Jersey; Roger Hancuff, NEC, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee; Jack Harper, Harper House, Inc., Dallas, Texas; Jack Kreber, Kreber Graphics, Columbus, Ohio; Ken Lowden, DuPont Imaging Technologies, Wilmington, Delaware; Kathy McHugh, Kodak Polychrome Graphics, Norwalk, Connecticut; Nubar Nakashian, Quality House of Graphics, New York; David Olberding, Phototype, Columbus, Ohio; Diane Romano, Applied Graphics Technologies, New York; Larry Warter, Fuji Photo Film U.S.A., Hanover Park, Illinois; and Reed Widen, Widen Enterprises, Madison, Wisconsin.