Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Society of Fellows Issues Call for Kagy, Berber & Reed Awards

Press release from the issuing company

Pittsburgh, Pa., January 21, 2002 — The Society of Fellows (SOF) at the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation (GATF) has issued a call for nominations for the Frederick D. Kagy Education Award of Excellence, the Naomi Berber Memorial Award, and the Robert F. Reed Technology Medal. The application deadline for all three awards is May 31, 2002. The Frederick D. Kagy Education Award of Excellence First presented in 1993, this award honors the distinguished career of SOF member Frederick D. Kagy, Professor Emeritus of the College of Applied Science and Technology, Department of Industrial Technology, Illinois State University. It was established to recognize a superior graphic communications program at the junior high, high school, or community college level. Nominated institutions must demonstrate a strong instructional leadership, a high degree of professionalism, innovative techniques, and promotion of the industry. To be eligible, the institution must be staffed or directed by a member of GATF. The Naomi Berber Memorial Award Established in 1976, the award was created to honor the "First Lady of the Foundation," who served as GATF’s first administrative director and was the first woman elected to the SOF. It is presented to a woman who has made a major contribution to the development of the graphic communications industries. Nominees for the Berber award must have worked in the graphic communications industries for ten or more years and achieved an outstanding record of accomplishments. Such activities could be in the form of extraordinary leadership, direction, and/or support of programs that have furthered the interests of the graphic communications industries. The Robert F. Reed Technology Medal Created in 1974 in honor of the first research director of the Lithographic Technical Foundation (currently GATF), the Robert F. Reed Technology Medal acknowledges an individual who has made major contributions to the technical and scientific advancement of the graphic communications industries. Nominees for the Reed award must be technically or scientifically oriented, and have worked as an engineer or scientist in the graphic communications industries for a period of ten years or more with a measurable or documented record of accomplishments. For both the Reed and Berber award, it is preferred that outstanding activities be extended over a period of time and not be confined to one project or development. It is not necessary that a candidate for either of these awards be a member of GATF or SOF. Selections & Presentations All three awards are sponsored by the Society of Fellows which was founded in 1969 to honor industry leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the progress of GATF and its affiliate, the Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF). Separate selection committees within the Society of Fellows will notify winners. The three recipients will be honored at the 2002 PIA/GATF Administrative Meetings. Next scheduled for November 14–17, 2002 in New Orleans, Louisiana, this forum hosts an impressive audience of industry leaders including boards of directors and committee members for GATF and its Society of Fellows; Printing Industries of America (PIA) and its Ash Khan Society; and the Print and Graphics Scholarship Foundation (PGSF). To receive a nomination form, call the GATF/PIA fax-on-demand line at 888/272-3329 and request document#14003 for the Kagy,#14004 for the Berber, and#14005 for the Reed. Written requests can be directed to GATF/SOF Awards, 200 Deer Run Road, Sewickley, PA 15143-2600. For additional information on the awards, contact Alissa Gould, communications manager, by phoning 412/741-6860 extension 702, faxing 412/741-2311.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs