Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Electronic Document Systems Foundation (EDSF) Awards Top Scholars

Press release from the issuing company

TORRANCE, Calif., Oct. 11 -- The Electronic Document Systems Foundation (EDSF), the only non-profit organization dedicated to print and digital communications, today announced 13 recipients of $25,000 in scholarship funding for the 2001 fall academic term. This year, more than 80 students submitted applications for the 13 EDSF scholarships, awarded to full-time students pursuing a career in the field of electronic document and communications. Technical, trade school, community college, undergraduate, graduate students in the US and/or diploma or tertiary students outside the US are considered for these scholarships awards. Winners are based on scholastic achievement, financial need, extracurricular involvement, community service, honors and organizational affiliations and education objectives. "The industry can only be as strong as the people who are involved in its operation and future,'' said Frank Romano, EDSF Vice Chair of Education and Administration Chair, Rochester Institute of Technology. "EDSF awards those students who have exhibited their interest and dedication to the industry and their drive to succeed. At the heart of our mission is to ensure that the document industry has the talent it needs to survive, grow and excel in this dynamic world. What better way to achieve this mission than to reward the catalysts of change and minds of tomorrow.'' "The medium of printed and documented words is the basic structure on which we are founded as a nation,'' said Chris Guerrero, a Board of Directors Scholarship winner. "I strongly believe in this field and EDSF has provided me the resources to begin my education and career. To work in this field will be an honor and a privilege.'' The 2001 EDSF Worldwide Electronic Document Communications Scholarship winners are: David Hoods Memorial Scholarship Ken Pagano, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA EDSF Board of Directors Scholarships (4-year/graduate) Habib Al-Assaad, The University of Tampa, Tampa, FL Chris Guerrero, Baker College of Muskegon, Muskegon, MI Margot LaNoue, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA Chelsea Matthews, Tarleton State University, Stephenville, TX Christy Norrbohm, University of Wisconsin - River Falls, River Falls, WI Aleksandr Pelts, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA Christopher Smith, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York Kerry-Ann White, Polytechnic University , Brooklyn, NY Nia Ujamaa, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA Lina Vetviriyakul, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA EDSF Board of Directors Scholarships (2-year) Reinier Voorwinde, Shoreline Community College, Seattle, WA Xplor Canada Scholarship Phillip Johnston, Red River Collegiate, Winnipeg, MB Canada About EDSF EDSF, founded in 1996, is a nonprofit, industry-supported organization dedicated to enhancing the value of document communications. This mission is achieved by creating a base of knowledge, sponsoring academic-based research, fostering education and professionalism, recognizing innovation and leadership and building a community of interest to benefit document creators and users.

WhatTheyThink is the official show daily media partner of drupa 2024. drupa Event Coverage | drupa daily programs