Editions   North America | Europe | Magazine


Special Scholarships for TMU Students

Press release from the issuing company

Toronto ON - Canadian Print Scholarships is pleased to announce that three of the Canadian Printing Industries Scholarships awarded to students in the Graphic Communications Management Program at Toronto Metropolitan University have been named for the following Ontario print industry leaders.

The students received their awards, along with other scholarship winners, at the 2022 GCM Awards Night held on November 17, 2022.

Danika Poon awarded the Warren Wilkins Memorial Scholarship

Every now and then, our industry produces a leader with enough vision, determination and generosity to create a successful printing business while at the same time committing time and ?nancial contributions to industry development.

Warren’s leadership skills were recognized by the industry at large and he served in a variety of association roles.

Melissa Chow awarded the Don Gain In Memoriam Scholarship

As a passionate supporter of the printing industry in Canada, Don served in many volunteer positions including nearly 15 years of service to Canadian Print Scholarships. He became involved in 2002 as a Trustee and within 3 years accepted the role of Chair of the Board.

Under his guidance, the organization thrived, and hundreds of students continued to receive Canadian Printing Industries Scholarships during a period of di?culty for the industry and its associations.

Emma Pereira awarded the Je? Ekstein Honourary Scholarship

A creative thinker, Je? Chaired the ‘Canadian Print Industry Scholarship Trust Fund’ for 6 years through to 2022. Je?’s ‘coast to coast’ vision reinvigorated CPISTF’s national network engaging new schools + attracting new industry partners + rewarding many new scholarship students. Je? drove creation of a new ‘Canadian Print Scholarships’ brand while transitioning the Fund’s resources towards increased scholarship awards and a growing funding base.

Je? is a tireless, long-serving print industry volunteer. Recognized in 2016 as the ‘Community Leader of the Year’, Je?’s unsel?sh commitment for giving back to our industry and to our youth has been a mobilizing force for all sectors of the print + graphics industry.

“It was our ?rst in-person Awards Night in 3 years. We’re so proud and happy that the award recipients were able to meet some of the people who made the scholarships possible”, said Natalia Lumby, Interim Chair of Graphic Communications Management at TMU.

“It’s always a pleasure to give out awards like these. These students represent the future of our industry.”, added Mike Collinge, Board Chair at Canadian Print Scholarships.


Join the discussion Sign In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free