Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured: Special Report: Printing Outlook 2019     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

The Conference Board Elects New Chairman

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Press release from the issuing company

Roger W. Ferguson, Jr., President and CEO, TIAA-CREF, has been elected Chairman of the board of trustees of The Conference Board, the global business membership and research organization, which will celebrate its centenary in 2016. Mr. Ferguson succeeds Alan M. Dachs, President and CEO of the Fremont Group, who served as chairman for five years. Mr. Dachs will assume the role of Chair Emeritus.

“Given his broad experience in strategic management, economics and financial services, Roger is the ideal person to lead The Conference Board,” said Jon Spector, President and CEO of The Conference Board. “Under his leadership, The Conference Board will continue to broaden its range of products and services to meet the evolving needs of its members.”  Mr. Ferguson is the former vice chairman of the Board of Governors of the U.S. Federal Reserve System, and previously served in senior roles at Swiss Re and at McKinsey & Company. He holds a B.A., J.D., and a Ph.D. in economics, all from Harvard University. 

“Business leaders today have even more reason to seek clarity and direction—insights that will enable them to navigate through challenging times and help move the economy forward,” said Mr. Ferguson. “I am honored to assume the chairmanship of an organization with such a rich history of bringing business leaders together to share ideas and insights.”

During Mr. Dachs’ tenure as chair, The Conference Board significantly expanded its research and convening activities worldwide. Recent research has focused on competitiveness, sustainability and innovation, labor shortages and closing talent gaps, and China consumption and productivity. This past year culminated in a merger with The Committee for Economic Development that expanded the organization’s impact on important economic policy issues.

The Conference Board has also re-elected several vice chairs to its board of trustees, including: Josef Ackermann, Former Chairman of the Management Board and Group Executive, Deutsche Bank; Francisco González, Chairman and CEO, BBVA; Harry M. Jansen Kraemer, Jr., Executive Partner, Madison Dearborn Partners; Edward B. Rust, Jr., Chairman, State Farm Insurance Companies; and Ronald A. Williams, Retired Chairman and CEO, Aetna Inc.

Ilene S. Gordon, Chairman, President and CEO, Ingredion Incorporated, has been elected vice chair of the board of trustees. The Conference Board’s full board of trustees is comprised of 23 business leaders from around the world. A complete list is available here.


Post a Comment

To post a comment Log In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free



Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2019 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved