Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured:     M&A Trends     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

PIA Call for Nominations: Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement and Naomi Berber Memorial Award

Friday, July 08, 2011

Press release from the issuing company

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, – Printing Industries of America seeks to honor a business leader who has surpassed their obligations and a woman who personifies the Naomi Berber school of thought and excels in her field of graphic communication with the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award and the Naomi Berber Memorial Award, respectively.

The Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes a business leader who has gone far beyond standard obligations and has become a significant force in the graphic arts industry.

To qualify to receive the Lewis Award, a nominee must:

  • Be widely recognized as having made a major impact on the graphic arts industry
  • Have a record of participating in both local and national professional activities
  • Have been active in the industry over an extended period of time and involved in many facets of the graphic arts industry
  • Not be an employee of any graphic arts association
  • The nominee need not be a member of Printing Industries of America, is not limited by age, sex, race, or geographic location, and may be either living or deceased. Nominations for the Lewis Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award are due August 31, 2011. The nomination form can be found online by visiting www.printing.org/lewisaward.

The Naomi Berber Memorial Award
Established in 1976 by the Graphic Arts Technical Foundation's Society of Fellows, now Printing Industries of America's Ben Franklin Honor Society, this award honors the distinguished 45-year career of Naomi Berber, GATF's first administrative director (1925–1970). The award is given to a woman who personifies the Naomi Berber attitude of excelling in her field of graphic communication and also volunteers their time to improve the industry.

Nominees for this award must fulfill this criteria:

  • A candidate must have worked in the graphic communications industry for ten years or more.
  • A candidate must have an outstanding record of accomplishments that demonstrates her unusual contribution toward the development of the graphic communications industry. Such contributions could be in the form of extraordinary leadership, direction, and/or support of programs or projects that have furthered the interests of the industry.
  • A candidate's activities must have extended over a 10 year period, and her contribution should not be confined to a single project, development, or program.
  • The nomination form can be found online at http://www.printing.org/berberaward.

Both recipients will be selected by a panel of industry leaders and honored before hundreds of peers at Printing Industries of America's Fall Meetings, November 11–13 in Miami Beach, FL. For additional information on the Lewis Award or the Naomi Berber Award, contact Sara Welsh at (800) 910-4283 ext. 705 or swelsh@printing.org.


Post a Comment

To post a comment Log In or Become a Member, doing so is simple and free



Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2018 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved