Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured: Special Report: Printing Outlook 2019     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

Judges announced for EskoArtwork Software Packaging Challenge

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Press release from the issuing company

Gent (Belgium) – EskoArtwork announces the judging panel for the EskoArtwork Software Packaging Challenge (www.esko.com/contest), a competition that tasks entrants with designing the packaging for EskoArtwork's Suite 10. The panel of 5 judges are a virtual "Who's who?" of packaging experts from around the globe. Chris Lyons, Group Publisher for Packaging Design Magazine will act as the chairman for the judging panel. The judges are:

Chris Lyons is the Group Publisher of the Design Group for ST Media, managing the publishing efforts of Package Design Magazine, Visual Merchandising and Store Design (VMSD), the International Retail Design Conference (IRDC), Hospitality Style Magazine, and RFID Product News. Chris is a 28-year veteran of the publishing industry with in-depth publishing experience with the Donnelley Directory Company, North American Publishing Company, founder of Periscope, Inc, the first on-line business-to-business publishing company, Reed Business Information. Chris has also served as COO of WMI, the premier consumer magazine insert producer and Vice President of Business Development at Scholastic Publishing, New York.

Madelene Breiling is a Packaging Development Manager for The Packaging Arena in Sweden. She is responsible for managing Packaging Development Process Support, a business service that helps companies produce innovative and user-friendly packaging solutions. This service provides support and knowledge transfers by involving the right expertise in cross-functional teams within the network and bridges the gap between the creative, technical and commercial fields. From 2004-2008, Madelene worked as a Packaging Developer for Procordia Food AB, one of Sweden's leading food companies. While at Procordia, she developed numerous breakthrough packages for various branded goods in their product portfolio.

Brigitte Evrard founded her own packaging design agency, most recently named Carré Noir, in 1976. Acting as Creative Director, she led projects from a strategic and a creative perspective. She joined the international group Desgrippes Gobé (now Brand Image) in 1998, where her team won more than 50 awards. Since leaving Desgrippes Gobé at the end of 2006, Brigitte decided to devote herself to the worldwide promotion of a communication tool to which she has given her life: packaging design. Pentawards, a worldwide packaging design competition now in its successful 3rd edition, shows that she considers packaging as one of the foremost communication tools in global business.

Hanson Tseng is the Deputy Executive Director of Strategic Marketing Department of TAITRA, the foremost non-profit trade promotion organization in Taiwan. Prior to his current role, he has held multiple positions at TAITRA, including as a Specialist in the Product Design Department, Manager of the Packaging Research Laboratory, and Deputy Executive Director of the Design Promotion Center. Hanson has served as a board member for the China Packaging Association and the International Safe Transit Association (ISTA). Hanson is also a published author of many industry papers covering topics such as Cushioning Packaging Systems, Corrugated & Fiberboard Box Design, and Green Packaging Design.

Dennis Young is a faculty member for the School of Packaging at Michigan State University and an adjunct faculty member for the Department of Packaging Science at Rochester Institute of Technology. Dennis has served on the boards of several professional organizations, including the American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM), The International Safe Transport Association (ISTA) and the Institute of Packaging Professionals (IOPP). In addition to his academic roles, he is also Senior Consultant, President and Owner of Dennis Young and Associates, an industry consulting firm. Dennis has inducted into the PMMI Packaging Hall of Fame in 2009 and is an IOPP Certified Packaging Professional (CPP).




Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2019 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved