Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured:     SGIA EXPO     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

Keith Kemp of Xerographic Digital Printing becomes Chairman of the NAPL Board

Thursday, October 08, 2009

Press release from the issuing company

Paramus, N.J. – Keith Kemp, President, Xerographic Digital Printing, Orlando, Fla., was installed as Chairman of the National Association for Printing Leadership (NAPL) at the Sept. 13, 2009, meeting of the Association's Annual Meeting in Chicago. Joining him as new NAPL officers are Darren Loken, President and Chief Executive Officer, Telepress, Kent, Wash., who has become Vice Chairman; and Nigel Worme, Managing Director and Chairman, COT Media Group, Christ Church, Barbados, installed as Secretary/Treasurer. Stephen L. Johnson, President, RR Donnelley-State, Columbia, S.C., who has completed a two-year term as Chairman, now serves as Immediate Past Chairman.
The Association also named the following to the NAPL Executive Committee: William F. Gavigan, Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer, PDQ Print Center, Scranton, Pa.; Brad Stiers, President/Chief Executive Officer, Pacific Printing, Fresno, Calif.; and Niels M. Winther, Chairman of the Board, Think Patented, Dayton, Ohio.
"We're pleased to welcome this new slate of officers and Board members," said NAPL President and Chief Executive Officer Joseph P. Truncale. "Through their leadership, NAPL will continue to provide the insights, strategies, and guidance our industry has come to expect from its Association."     


NAPL Chairman Keith Kemp, President, Xerographic Digital Printing, Orlando, Fla., entered the printing industry as a copier salesman for Eastman Kodak. In 1994, he transitioned into business ownership by joining Xerographic Digital Printing with a focus on sales. This new challenge has provided Keith with many learning opportunities, including volunteer leadership positions such as President of the National Association of Quick Printers (NAQP), now part of the NAPL Network, and active involvement in various local organizations. A graduate of the University of Texas, he is a member of NAPL's Walter E. Soderstrom Society, which honors and recognizes individuals in the printing industry who have significantly contributed to the development and progress of the graphic arts.  

NAPL Vice Chairman Darren Loken, President and Chief Executive Officer, Telepress, Kent, Wash., began his career in print sales after receiving a degree in Marketing from Seattle Pacific University. In 1992, he founded a mailing services company, which was sold in 1997, and then joined Valco Graphics to start its mailing and fulfillment division. He went on to become President and Chief Executive Officer of Valco and, following its sale to Cenveo, became General Manager of Cenveo's Seattle facility.
NAPL Secretary/Treasurer Nigel Worme is Managing Director and Chairman of the COT Media Group, Christ Church, Barbados, a leading marketing and production organization in the eastern Caribbean.
NAPL Immediate Past President Stephen L. Johnson, President, RR Donelley-State, Columbia, S.C., began his printing industry career as a scheduler at R.L. Bryan Company. He joined Washburn Graphics in 1977, and held various operational and general management positions with Washburn and, subsequently, Cadmus Communications until 1995, when he joined Graphic Industries, Inc., as President of State Printing. Following its acquisition by Wallace Computer Services in 1997 and Moore Corporation in 2003, the company was purchased by RR Donnelley in 2004. Johnson holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education from Eastern Illinois University and a Master's Degree in Printing and Industrial Management from the Graduate School of Industrial Education at Clemson University. He has served as a member of the NAPL Board of Directors since 2000 and was elected that same year into NAPL's Walter E. Soderstrom Society.  

William Gavigan, Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer of PDQ Print Center, Scranton, Pa., is also Co-Owner of PDQ locations in Scranton and Taylor, Pa. PDQ has 23 employees and approximately $3 million in sales. He purchased PDQ in 1996 after spending 14 years as a Business Development Manager for United Parcel Service, working in Orlando and Atlanta. Gavigan, who earned a Bachelor's Degree in Management from the University of Scranton, has served on the NAQP Board of Governors since 2002, becoming its Chairman in 2009.
Brad Stiers, President/Chief Executive Officer of Pacific Printing, Fresno, Calif., began his career at the company while attending California State University, Fresno, working in many facets of the business. In 1997, the opportunity arose to buy Pacific and he became its President and CEO. He serves on the Board of Printing Industries of California, is an advisor to the State Center Community College District Graphics Program, and is a charter member of the Fresno Airport Rotary Club. Founded in 1955, Pacific Printing is a $6 million, 54-employee commercial sheetfed printer specializing in high-definition multicolor printing, fulfillment, and distribution.
Niels M. Winther, Chairman and Co-owner of Think Patented, Dayton, Ohio, a leading graphic communications company, has held positions as President or Chief Executive Officer with several major firms, including Heidelberg USA Inc, Baumfolder, and the East Asiatic Company, and has been a Board member in dozens of other companies throughout his career. He holds an Honorary Doctorate of Business and Industry from Ferris State University, a B.A. in Business Administration from EAC's Commercial School, and a Commercial Degree from the Commercial and Merchant School of Denmark, Copenhagen. In 2000 he became a member of NAPL's Walter E. Soderstrom Society.




Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2018 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved