Log In | Become a Member | Contact Us

Market Intelligence for Printing and Publishing

Connect on Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Featured: Special Report: Printing Outlook 2019     Production Inkjet     Installations and Placements Tracker

RIT Students Excel at Graphic Arts Competition, Eliot Harper Among Winners

Tuesday, July 17, 2001

Press release from the issuing company

Students from Rochester Institute of Technology have been honored for their outstanding achievements in graphic communications. The group, sponsored by RIT’s School of Printing Management and Sciences, claimed six awards during this year’s Technical Association of the Graphic Arts (TAGA) national conference, held in San Diego, Calif. TAGA, a student run organization, focuses on the technical aspects of the graphic communications industry. Students were assigned to create a journal that features various technical and creative aspects. RIT’s chapter received top honors in the following categories: * Best overall publication * Best production quality * Best technical papers The theme of RIT’s entry was Big Shot, the annual "painting with light" photography project conducted by RIT’s School of Photographic Arts and Sciences. The journal incorporated images of past Big Shots with technical papers that documented the project’s history. Students used traditional lithographic printing, along with electrophotography and variable data printing, to produce this year’s entry. Members of RIT’s journal team included Sean True, Sarah Nielson, Erin Melchi, Jenny Beard, Abel Gonzalez, Vincent Ng, Jessica Lahita, Alex Castellanos, Amelia Hugill-Fontanel and Ann DeBolt. In addition to the team honors, several RIT students received individual recognition. In the technical paper category, Elliot Harper won first prize and Bob Wan received third prize. Alex Castellanos won first prize in the poster competition.




Email Icon Email

Print Icon Print

Become a Member

Join the thousands of printing executives who are already part of the WhatTheyThink Community.

Copyright © 2019 WhatTheyThink. All Rights Reserved